Raspberry tea.

I could tell you.

I’m not afraid.

Come, sit. Close the door.

I can tell you but I am no hero nor anti hero, no simpleton.

When I saw her, I wanted to kiss her lips as she formed her first smile in my presence. I wanted those even if they were dry and chapped. They were mines

The best thing about her? Too much.

She tells wonderful stories. All the time. Clever, Insightful, or vulgar and dirty. She really does tell them all. And I love that. I love the lilt and cadence that her voice makes against my skin. I feel her like a speaker in my chest. Her smile makes me smile and I will get up slightly on my tiptoes just to kiss her good morning.

She is smart, like super smart, but like one of those smarts where she takes shit literally sometimes and it is heartbreakingly sweet mistakes that roll across her lips, and then other times you are like: Whoa where did you get all that at, and she’s already got a pie chart and a tri fold to explain it all to me.

She is an unabashed know it all, and I love that because we will bullshit each other all the time just to see the look on her face when she catches me. We will straight Google challenge one another with a scowl on our faces but then sit there amazed at the new knowledge we just learned and never knew about.

We bicker and argue. I would like to say that we are the couple that always gets along. We are not. We are volatile, sarcastic, we will use everything you have ever said against you if we are feeling threatened and only realize we did that 4 hours later.  We will apologize profusely over tea that very same night.

We are perfect for each other.

I tell you She is mine. I do not want to be her Knight in shining armor, I want us to be each other’s Knight in shining armor. It just depends on the day and who needs it.

She tells me how…not many people like her. But I do. I adore her, so I think probably everyone else should as well.

Look if you want a judgey, slightly awkward, Governess as a friend, you could do no worse or better than my wonderful wife.

If you need someone who will constantly surprise you with her wit and candor…she is it. She is so funny. God. She makes me laugh all the time. Half my wrinkles are because of her.

If she is your friend, she will devotedly have your back. Like a pit bull wrapped up like a Victorian School Marm, that’s not afraid to cut someone for you.

She is such a good partner , not just for what she does, but because she tries. I don’t ever need her to be perfect, just try for me. I’ll try for you.

I love her because she fails too. You can’t fail if you don’t try.

We all know she’s amazing in bed. Just read something previous to this. I’ll wait…

You see! It’s so true. She is perfect.

She’s a nerd. Like utterly. I am macabre, we interest each other constantly in the most surprising weird wonderful ways.

I love her hand. Holding it, touching it. Everything. I can quietly sit on a bench and watch the world go by pleasantly as long as we are touching sometimes.  I am a bit more antsy and I might have to walk around for bit but I can usually sit for a bit…quietly.

She makes me so mad. We do not agree on stuff, but we talk, and argue, and bicker until we understand. I love that, I mean not when it’s happening, it’s infuriating. But when I can look back yeah. I’d much rather have my wife, than someone that always says yes. It feels more truthful.

She is perfect to me. She fits and the places she doesn’t, it’s ok. Because I like her differences. I like the angle she sees the world sometimes. I need that, to see the different light. To see what I don’t see through her.

She is a wonderful adventurer. Like she’s the type of adventurer that gets bored just sitting g around wasting time not adventuring.

I adore her. I go all over the place with her. No place is too weird,  o adventures too small. I’ll do them all with her. Picking up eggs and milk at the grocery store? Awesome let’s do this. Going to Greece to see some 4000 year old building and ooopah!

Just let me enjoy it with her. That is lovely and perfect. All of it.

Just don’t ever let me read a story or watch a movie where the wife dies. I can’t handle it. I fucking lose it.

A lot of time she thinks she’s not special, and I say she is. She’s not beautiful, I say she is ravishing. Nobody likes her, I say I love you, you are perfect to me. Of all the things you store away for dark moments, put that away.

You are perfect to me. With all your flaws, sometimes because of those flaws. Always and forever, truly…you honey.

Forever and ever

Log in to write a note
January 9, 2024

This is beautiful honey. Thank you. Kinda speechless and weepy.