Spring: It’s half over!

Way back in 1981 I became  a certified tax preparer.  By mid-April of that year (and just about every year since!) I was ready to hit the road!  It was time to make a trip to visit my parents… or my kids…. or just “get the heck out of Dodge” for a week or so.  I still feel the call go some place, but it’s just not an option now.  I miss the freedom.  I miss my parents.  I miss my kids.  I miss climbing into my big car, pointing it onto the interstate and switching on the cruise control.  I’d crank up the tunes and sing along for hours as one, two, or more state lines were crossed.  W2’s, 1040’s, upset people were left behind and Spring flowers and happy faces were just a little farther down the road…. ~sigh~

So far this year I have spent one hour on my deck.  I am hoping to get some fresh air the next two or three days.  I need to do some cleaning out there… winter dirt needs to be swept away.  Spider webs and bird droppings need removed.  Chair cushions need a good vacuuming and the chair frames need scrubbed.  We need to get out and buy a new little table.  It’s still too early here to plant flowers, but soon…..  (Just thinking about doing all this brings a smile to my face…and boy, do I need that!)

I have been doing a lot of reading recently.    We got all the “devices” dug out and charged up.  Between us we have 3 Kendels, 2 Ipads, and 2 laptops…not to mention at least 3 other laptops that we have ‘retired’.  We also have access to a small library here in the building and my bridge friends exchange books regularly.  A good read is never out of reach around here.  In the last few weeks I have read two Pennys, two Kirstin Hannahs, and a John Lescroart.  Now I am into a new (to me) guy:  Nick Petrie.  Not quite like a road trip, but in my mind, I am getting out of the house….

 

Log in to write a note
April 27, 2018

That sounds like our house.  1 desktop, 2 laptops, 2 I-pads, 1 Kindle fire and of course 2 smart phones.  I haven’t checked the basement lately to see how many old computers Arlen still hasn’t thrown away.

April 27, 2018

Yep, you sound like us also! Many, many electronics and sit at home instead of road trips. I miss the trips! Good to see you here!

May 11, 2018

I’m hoping to get back to reading this summer.  Not sure what happened over the winter, but I have yet to finish a novel that I started reading last summer!  I’m reading my way through James Rollins’ Sigma Force series.  So far, there’s only been one book in the bunch that I didn’t like or finish.  I read on my iPad, but I have a large collection of other books on bookcases throughout our home.

A road trip sounds like so much fun!