I have returned.

I find myself back here again.  It’s been a long while since I’ve written.  I was one of those 2000-2003 OD junkies.  I had a few names, Canadanabis being my most popular.  So, I think after I met my current wife, is when I stopped writing on here.  Not sure why, just always had someone to talk to and was not finding myself alone anymore.

Here I am, back again.  Things are very different now.  I’ll start with the job I worked.  It was a horrid place, a sweat shop even on cold winter days.  I struggled through 12 years working for them.  Went from grunt labour to welding aluminum door frames.  Enjoyed it some days, but the company took a huge dive after trump imposed tariffs on aluminum.

In June 2018, my father passed away.  I took my three days off for bereavement leave.  On the first day back, fired.  Was very stupid.  Still have a union grievance in play.

Then, Canada legalized marijuana.  I thought it super cool to work at a pot store.  Well, what a shit show that turned into.  I lasted 4 months.  Store was terribly managed and the pot was way overpriced and lacked quality.

Then, on May 1, a big giant cheque showed up as part of my inheritance.  I’ve taken the summer off this year, to pursue photography and soul searching.  So far, photography is better with proper gear.  I use EOS R by Canon.  Great camera.

Ill share some photos on my next post tomorrow.  Cheers,

Austin.

Log in to write a note
July 9, 2019

I too was one of the old OD alumni.  Isn’t it curious that we can consolidate our past 15 years in so few words?  Oddly in the time period you mention, I also did one of those I need to feel vindicated, therefore I shall get myself stupidly fired moves.  Must have been in the water.  I wish you a summer of creative discovery.

July 9, 2019

Welcome back! 🙂