. snuggles .

We had the most fantastic gathering at our place last Friday!

I had been feeling a little lost lately when it comes to my friends and acquaintances. I mean, I know too many freakin’ people! I went to a Burning Many decompression party a few weekends ago, and it really impressed upon me how many people I have made friends or acquaintances with in the past few years. Waaaaaay too many. I saw quite a few people there, whom I have seen around many times in the past few years, and whose names I can never remember. We go for months at a time without seeing each other, so every time we do, it’s all small talk. I don’t know much, if anything, about these people other than that they’re burners. At first it was great, when you become involved in the Burning Man community, all of a sudden, you know 200 people! And they’re all artsy types involved in acts of radical self-expression. How cool!

But after a while, you just want to get back to basics. I felt incredibly "spread out" when it came to the people I knew. I wasn’t feeling as if I had enough friends with whom I was really close, people I would trust with anything, anytime. People I would feel okay calling late at night just to chat. I just knew too many people a little bit, when I have been wanting to know fewer people a lot better.

So My Love and I decided to have a small party. (What a concept! A small party!) We invited maybe 15 people that we picked with care from our email lists, knowing that probably 10 would come. People we already knew fairly well with whom we wanted to cultivate our friendships a little more. People that already knew each other, and who would be very open to our concept. We decided to make it a non-sexual snuggle party. We made a giant snuggle pit in the middle of our living room, with futons, pillows, and blankets galore. We invited people to wear their favorite pj’s and bring their favorite mug for hot cider.

Ten people did show up. Including me and My Baby, there were 3 sexy men and 9 beautiful women. We snuggled until the sun came up, enhanced our night with a couple of various medicinal accessories, and played a few rounds of blindfolded snuggling. (Which was sooooo much fun in the snuggle pit with all those people!) There might have been some after-hours play involved. But by then (4 pm the next day?) the party was technically over, I think, so it didn’t break the no sex rule.  Or is it not over until the last person leaves and doesn’t come back? Then it would have been over almost exactly 24 hours after it started. 😉

*sigh*

What an awesome night. I feel so great about the connections that were cultivated that night. I know that we know some incredible people. And everyone just loved our blindfolded snuggling activity. We will have to do this one again! Maybe with a different set of people next time.

I love my friends. And they’re getting ever closer. Yay!

🙂

~kate

Log in to write a note
November 28, 2007

i love snuggling!

November 28, 2007

i soooooooo know what you mean about knowing too many people. it’s hard for me to wander the events that i like and not run into people i know and half of them at least are, “oh yeah… do i know you? yeah i think so… oh well forgot the name, it’s ___.” i like keeping most of them that way, makes my up keep easier since no one expects you to remember them. hahaha.

November 28, 2007

sounds fun 🙂