I’m amazed at things 4th year uni students don’t know.

Holy crap what is wrong with millennials at times?

There were two in my house today, and they were chatting with a friend and the three of them; all have either recently graduated from or are in the 4th year of university, can’t name the planets in our solar system.

What’s funnier is how they argued with me when I first asked them to which solar system they were referring. Apparently, there is only one solar system. Then again, they also argued with me that the sun is not a star. This is what they learn in an astronomy class?

They agreed that the definition of a solar system is planets, moons, comets, asteroids and other cosmic debris which travels around a star. With there being many stars with multiple planets which have been discovered, how does that make ours the only one?

The one who studies social sciences is the worst offender when it comes to getting angry when I challenge what they have been taught in school.

I woudn’t survive as a student today. I left in a note how I completed an assignment the way it is currently being done as opposed to how the professor told us to do it. Considering this was going to be used in the real world, I thought it prudent to produce it as it would be in the real world.

The professor argued with me about how I was wrong and went against people working in the field including top executives of global companies. I didn’t win the argument and got a zero.

I found out that the following year, the same professor was having students complete the assignment the way I had a year earlier. I laughed. It’s too bad one can’t challenge marks a year after the assignment is completed, at that point, I had a strong case.

Tigger is having more moments of confusion on her face. It’s this really “I’m sick” look. Once she eats, she’s back to normal. I wonder if she has developed diabetes now although she is not showing any symptoms of it.

I can’t wait to be back in the water swimming with the sharks, fishes, and watching the crabs scuttle about and eels poke out of their holes. The latter is quite disturbing at times.

One of the things I’m struggling with is having to kill lionfish. They are an invasive species and over time will damage the coral to the point it will no longer be home to more than 100 different creatures. I don’t like killing unless I’m going to eat it, and I’ve been told lionfish tastes like shit.

Every year as a kid when we would leave camp, I would be so upset at my father killing all the minnows. I know why it has to be done, that doesn’t mean I have to like it.

I really should update my resume one of these days. I’m part of a group which developed an earthquake forecasting model based on solar activity. Now NASA is using it, and Italy and China have launched a satellite to help predict earthquakes which works on the same principle we discovered and got published in 2016. One of our members is one of the top 100 high school students in the world and has developed a model of predicting cyclones based on solar forecasting. Not my work but I’m still proud of him and the group.

Not only am I feeling mentally unchallenged, but I’m also constantly hungry.

Log in to write a note
kat
April 28, 2019

wow and these kids are in college? I knew those things in 3rd grade

April 30, 2019

@kaliko I think that’s about the time I learned it as well.  It’s incredible what millennials don’t know which should be basic knowledge.  But hey they all know I’m racists because I don’t believe dynastic Egyptians could build the Khufu’s pyramid – I need to give Egyptians credit for being able to do things.

kat
April 30, 2019

@axalotal  my millennials are engineers… they know those things lol

April 29, 2019

These millenials are disturbing. I sometimes wonder how they will exist in the real world? I have to think, they shouldn’t get very good grades in Uni!! It is sad, and hard to kill living creatures, but, I guess it’s for the greater good.   I wonder if you can feed Tigger small amounts more often? I just don’t know.