The dumbest thing ever said on CNN with video evidence

Today was a good day, but very quiet.  I finally got my front room cleaned out, jumped for joy at the increase in cryptocurrencies, had fun with the squirrels and am really enjoying my Echo Dot.  The one thing that baffles me is why Alexa sometimes just randomly says something like someone’s talking to her.

I’ve been trying very hard not to get angry today. Instead, I had a good laugh. According to a panel on CNN, the news network should be trusted because of its mistakes in reporting facts.  How Orwellian is that?  It just got worse and worse as the interview went on.  Know what, I’m keeping it as a good reminder of just how bad TV is getting.  While I’m not a fan of the person who made this video, in this instance, he does have a point.

Oh, this is so funny if it wasn’t real.  I wasn’t even going to write about this, but it’s a keeper!

In other news, the snow has started.  10 to 15 cm; or 4 to 6 inches, overnight.  This is the earliest we’ve had snow since moving here.  The area I live in is also a bit odd with people less than 15 minutes north, east, and west receives way more snow.

One of my favourite features with Alexa so far is being able to listen to my favourite radio stations.  It’s also nice having lists sent directly to my phone, and thanks to the help of Singer I now understand how to label multiple timers.

I understand the basics reasonably well.  I’m trying to learn some advanced stuff like having Alexa control my IR fans and create smart blinds.  Although I don’t know why My bedroom doesn’t have curtains; I like looking out at night, and since I’ve installed the deck the window and door blinds haven’t been closed once.

One of the things I don’t like about Alexa is that she can’t play music on my server.  I’m limited to Amazon Music.  Most of the songs I really like are not on there.  For example, one of my favourite songs Second Line by Wynton Marsalis.

That and she seems to be picky when asking for instructions.  She won’t recognize “French Fry timer” but will recognize “French Fry” and give me the time left.

I also wish I could modify the “Good morning” command to include some skills.

MJG
“for I have sworn upon the altar of god eternal hostility against every form of tyranny over the mind of man.” ~ Thomas Jefferson
Log in to write a note
December 11, 2017

The echo can act as a Bluetooth speaker, so try pairing it with your server. Of course the dot isn’t the best speaker, but you can connect a better speaker to it.

December 12, 2017

@ Singer, I can play it on the echo through my mac, but not directly from the server. After some hopeful research, I don’t believe it’s possible at this time.

December 12, 2017

Yes, fake news indeed!! That guy looks like he’s sweating this !! Stooge! I’m glad you are enjoying your new “technological toys, ” And Alexa sounds fun. Sorry she is so “overly bearing ” on playing YOUR music. That song, I wasn’t sure of from the name, but I ‘YouTubed” it and recognized it right away,. He really jams and this is a great version of it!!

December 12, 2017

What version did you see? A few enteries ago, I posted a version played at a New Years concert Wynton preformed.

December 12, 2017

@axalotal : Oh, I went to You Tube. I can look again, hang on. Second Line-tentet, live @ Dizzy’s Club. I was about to boogie off my chair, LOL.

December 12, 2017

@butterfly4him YES! That is one of my favourite concerts ever. Before I put the trumpet on hold, I was learning how to play that concert from start to finish. The songs were slightly different since I’m a lonetet but the heart was the same.

December 12, 2017

OMG!! That was just too funny and almost painful to watch.

I love my Dot but I am also finding its little quirks that make wonder if there is actually some sort of little person inside running it. LOL!

December 12, 2017

@SillySillySandee LOL what’s the oddest thing that you’ve had happen so far?

December 12, 2017

@axalotal She started talking to TV. No one said anything to her and her name wasn’t even mentioned and the next thing you know she’s talking. LOL!

December 12, 2017

@sillysillysandee haha mine did that out of the blue yesterday. Scared the living pee pee out of me. Suddenly I heard “Thanks for sharing, that means a lot.” No TV was on, no music playing. I was just laying down and petting my cats; who didn’t meow.