a symphony for autumn.

 a faint ray of light makes it through the falling leaves,

as another stream of wind suspends its descent

i smile, walk on, my hands in pockets, warmed, indeed

 

falls of the past come to me, as soothing as coffees

that find their way to my nose, and i remenisce

the innocence within me, despite the sin my flesh breeds

 

a glimmer of family gatherings, anticipation of the warmth of holidays

as serene as the hay bails, and oranges and browns

as tender as the embrace of loved ones

 

evidence of God, I say, to be such a being capable of all my wretched ways,

yet to be blessed with a King who has a thorn of crowns,

who died for the things I have done

 

apple cider waiting at the counter, and feasts of grandure up ahead,

though all times are times to be thankful, loving and pensive,

like autumns leaves in water, such emotions are brought to the surface

 

like the resurrection of Jesus, such beauty given to things dead

as trees and leaves die, like our spirits inside continue to live,

i feel revived, knowing the things ahead, are things i find joy to face

 

– kevin rk davis

Log in to write a note
September 28, 2011

RYN: Ten points for you my friend!