03/29/2010

I’m so proud of myself. I’ve been using the internet for many years now and have never been banned from a site – until yesterday. And it’s the strangest thing. I didn’t even know I did anything wrong even though I was accused of just that.

Saturday night I couldn’t sleep so among other browsing, I was looking up something about my disease. I came across healthboards.com where a couple of people had made posts with questions about CLL, my particular type of leukemia. Having lived with it for a lot of years already, I wanted to help with reassurance that it does not have to mean a life sentence. I offered my email address in a covert sort of way by spelling out DOT instead of using the symbol as in .com. I was told in a newsgroup that I belong to that it lessens your chance of having it stolen by a “bot” and I can’t even begin to explain how it works. I just know what I’ve been told. Don’t give out your email address on the internet. But I wanted to reach out to 2 of these posters, so I took a chance.

The next day I got an email from the administrator of the healthboards saying I was PERMANENTLY BANNED. I clicked on the message which took me to the the site, and sure enough, in bold print – permanently banned. There was a link that I could click to appeal. All I wanted to know was why I was banned. I got an email back that said only: Free advertising is not allowed for any reason. That started the exchange of emails as I began to explain what I was doing.

You know you did wrong
By offering to help someone in need? I’m a private citizen and did NOT advertise
we deem what you posted to be advertising
The evidence that you knew you did wrong is that you spelled out ‘dot’
in your email address. Those who don’t know, simply enter .com
I knew I did wrong??? You couldn’t be further from the truth. I belong to a great newsgroup and that’s the way I was showed how to protect my email addy somewhat.
I’d do it again if I thought I could help someone though. In my eyes the only person I was possibly hurting was myself by exposing my address. Even that is worth it if I can give someone else hope.

I’m 100% sure this “admin” person is female. What professional man would take that action, and then waste his time bantering back and forth over several emails. The last one I sent made it clear that I did not want to discuss this further. I’m far from a professional, but the people writing in to that board weren’t asking questions directed at professionals. I got my diagnosis and initial information from professionals in the medical field. After it had all sunk in, I wanted to speak to someone living with the disease. I identified with a couple of people and reached out. Was that wrong? Not in my mind. No, I didn’t read the rules before signing up for this board. I jumped right in. 🙂 But I have a hard time thinking that if this person read my post, they wouldn’t have let it slide, to think that someone might have had cause for hope instead of worry. Or at the very least, emailed me with a warning. No, I’m not really proud of myself. I think it’s everybody’s lost in this case.

Note to admin’s everywhere –
1. Think outside the box
2. Have a heart
3. Don’t be afraid to look the other way for a greater good

Log in to write a note
March 29, 2010
March 29, 2010

Good grief! I thought all the banter-back-and-forth people (in notes in our case) were here on OD. 🙂 Banning you from that site can only be a loss for everyone. hugs, P2

March 29, 2010

Open Diary, Facebook, Sigma XI, UCSC, My retirees group & the Republican Party are the only organizations I belong to, other than financial. Even so, from all the junk send-money snail mail I get, my address must be well known worldwide. Willy of

March 31, 2010

Well I’m proud of you. First you were banned! That is kind of cool. Secondly you were being you and reached out to help. That is nothing to sneeze at. I’m proud I know you. Banned. Permanently. Good job!

May 6, 2010

Hiya! I was reading old entries and clicking the links of old noters and found myself here. 🙂

June 15, 2010

F*ck ’em. One thing I learned from Savanah’s journey through devastating illness is that just because someone is in a sympathetic position, does not mean they aren’t jerks or nutlogs. Jerks and nutlogs come in all shapes, sizes, and conditions. I think our inclination as human beings is to give someone who is sick or who has dealt with a terrible illness a lot of slack. Then we learn that theyare just human too.

June 16, 2010

The ban you saw is probably a OD error. To check, put the diarist’s name in the search for diarist box, click it, and the diarist post will show if it is. Thanks for coming to the party for my 96th. Hope there will be a #97 next year, with diary pardner Wilma. Willy of

August 18, 2010

I got banned from a truck driving site that I wasn’t really into so I posted videos all the time and talked about my website, airllusion.com. They got mad because I was doing Free Advertising. It’s who I am, it’s what I do. Facebook has stolen all of my time as of late. Being banned is hilarious. Like any of this is real

October 2, 2010

it’s been a while – checking on you. Hope all is well.

November 25, 2010

Stopping by to wish you a Happy Thanksgiving!

January 8, 2011

I was so glad to get a note from YOU! I’ve thought of you lately and hope everything is okay. I miss you. Love, P2

May 8, 2011

Hello my friend. I hope you are well!