07/24/2012

It’s nearing a year since my last official diary post. I still have OpenDiary on my top 10 list of websites and I occasionally read friends and even less, comment. Still I don’t ever see myself giving this diary up. So the good news is, I’m getting old(er). The bad news is . . . . I’m getting old(er) I take comfort in knowing that this leukemia is growing slower than I ever expected it would and there is no need for treatments of any kind thus far. I still work 12-hour days at a physically challenging job, when I’m not recovering from one thing or another. Pounding cement floors for far too many years has taken its toll on the ‘ol bod and in particular my feet. 3 years ago I had a bunion removed and was off work for 10 weeks. Last year I had achilles tendonitis and was off work for another 11 weeks. This year I had a bunionectomy on the other foot and in the process found out I have arthritis in both feet. Loved the downtime. Did not love the news. But by God I have a plan and I’m working it. I hope to be able to retire in 4 years. I was thinking about that quote, “feet don’t fail me now.” (In a very literal sense)

My single entry last year was in regard to my son’s wedding. This week they celebrated their first anniversary. It seems they’ve been making the most of another year living and working in Brazil, but they took almost a month off to come home and spend time with friends and family. That was the highlight of my summer and truth be told, I strategically planned this surgery so that when my son had time to spend here, I’d be available. This was one of the nicest visits we’ve ever had.

About 1 1/2 years ago I rescued Bubbles and Louie. They’re both 8 years old now and the 3 of us have bonded pretty well I’d say. Bubbles is the most energetic of the 3 of us. Louie had to have all but 3 teeth pulled but he’s doing ok as far as eating solids. It just takes him longer. Today when I gave them their treat, something occurred to me. They each have a spot where they usually will go with their goodies, but it takes Bubbles no time at all to finish hers. When she’s done, she walks over to Louie and stands over him. Chow hound that she is, I used to worry that she’d find an opportune moment and snatch his treat away from him. I’m pretty sure she’d like to but she never does. She patiently waits for him to finish. So this is what I’m thinking. It’s all about controlling urges and impulses. I don’t know how or why, but she displays control. And then I think about the mass murderer in Aurora, Colorado this week. If my “animal” can control herself, why can’t these murderers resist the temptation to slaughter innocent men, women and even children? I am truly at a loss.

When time or inspiration allows, I still love to work with digital art, and have spent a lot of time this summer just birdwatching in my own back yard or as I like to call it, my slice of paradise. I even have a reference book that sits on my dining room table for a quick lookup. Maybe next year I’ll spring for a pair of binoculars.

I’m happy to report, my cup is half full.
xoxo

Edit – I don’t need much coaxing to share pictures of Bubby and Louie. Katherine asked to see them, so here they are:

 photo bubblesandlouie-1.jpg

Log in to write a note
July 25, 2012

So glad to read an update from you! I smiled to get the recent note from you and hoped that meant you might post an entry soon. I guess my hoping worked. 🙂 Sometimes I think relationships withOUT commitment have a better chance of lasting. If you and P were married, you would feel trapped during the icky times. This way, you can just take a break and get back together later. Bubbles and Louie are so lucky to find a home with you. Do we get to see a picture? Again, I was really glad to read this. I think about you often with love. Your OLD friend, P2, aka

July 25, 2012

Hello, darlin’!

July 26, 2012

So nice to ‘see’ you. You sound good. 🙂

August 1, 2012

I am so glad to see your post. I was cleaning out my phone/address book just this morning and there was your phone. I almost called it but wasn’t sure if you were at the same number. It has literally been years. Your feet. Yeah I get that. Your mind..well you lost that years ago 🙂 Your pups are lucky. How fun for all three of you. *big smooches*

August 19, 2012

Thanks for the info and the notes you send, Brenda. Post whenever you want, and it will pop up on my diary friends list. Neither OD nor I delete diary friends for lack of use, unless death has. Many years ago a friend had leukemia. Spinal bone marrow from a sister fixed it. Think I’ll Google for stem cell work on it. Re Disabled, it’s the same as Handicapped, just harder to get,and needs yearly renewal. Willy of

September 3, 2012

Bubby and Louie look happy and cute. The solar cooker is looking good. The sunlight from nine six inch plastic mirrors on the black bottom of an improvised 5 inch grill brought smoke from the wood that held it. It cooked bacon to crisp and did an egg. Have ordered 8, 10 & 12 inch anodized aluminum crepe pans to try, plus a glass lid, which should stop some of the heat being lost to air. Willy of

March 8, 2013

Welcome back to OD, Brenda. I”ve missed you. The Diary has lost so many to FB, etc he has to work at an outside job to feed his family and is managing the diary all by himself. The servers take almost all the ad money. Have been listening to your music box. We had it butt the Canadian rights to use were lost and diary partner Wilma couldn’t post it. The solar stove works fine as is and doesn’t need fossil fuel. It’s only 11 pounds and would make a good camp stove if a way can be found to fold it up compactly. Ideas keep coming but nothing practical yet. Was looking at an old Apollo windup clock and noted that the winder-upper key unwound with near the same torque potential it took to wind. The shaft the ribbon spring is wound on drives the clock’s hour hand. Gearing it down by 12 makes a revolution per day. Used clock an a lazy suzan to make a mount for stove that rotates it to follow the sun.Willy of

May 8, 2013

Bubby and Louie look healthy and happy. They are fortunate to have the tenser care you give them. Clicked on BBe in your recent note, got hooked on Fantasy Dancer at your music box and enjoyed most everything there. Will wait for you to do another post before adding any more to this one. Willy of

June 20, 2013

ryn: thanks, sweetie — I think about you, too. xoxo