Tuesday 5/14/24

7:43a.m. I remember this one dream last night. The old steel mills in the valley opened back up. They were hiring like crazy and the local economy was booming. Even I got my old job back at Eagle Manufacturing. This was a nice dream for a change.    

I was up for good by 6:00. Chocolatechip called. We had a nice chat. She has a therapy appointment today at CMP. Chocolatechip got up early to get ready for it. We talked for a long time about different topics. One of them was her grandson Joey. The family laid her a visit a long time ago ago. I said I got the biggest kick out of Joey doing karate moves. We talked until they served breakfast. 

I ate a good breakfast. They served scrambled eggs with bacon bits and a piece of toast. I ate it all and didn’t get sick. The coffee was warm but I drank it. On the hole breakfast was ok.  

I was talking to Chocolatechip about getting that Amazon gift card tomorrow. I said it might not be $50. We were thinking I just might not get one at all. They bought some much needed clothes for me last month. The money just might of gone towards clothes. I said that would not surprise me. I also said I’d be happy with a $25 gift card. I could at least buy that new Stephen King book. 

I’m in a fairly good mood this morning. I’m looking forward to reading my book Gettysburg . I did a lot of reading last night. I stayed up until 11:00 reading. I read about half of Chapter 10. I wanted to read more buti got sleepy and fell asleep. I will pick up where I left off. 

10: 43a.m. I’m dressed and in my wheelchair. The stupid aide hooked me up to an empty oxygen tank. I told her the tank was empty. She said something and walked away. I had to go to the nurse’s station to get a new tank. I don’t know about some of these aides. Anyways I’m dressed and ready to face the day. 

Chocolatechip is back from her appointment. It went well. We were talking while she was in the laundry room. She said she was going to do one large load. She does laundry almost every day. It’s an effective way to deal with bed bugs.    

12:42p.m. I made it to the Fiesta Room for lunch. I had a double portions of sweet and sour meatballs, rice, broccoli and sliced peaches. I ate it all and didn’t get too bloated. I also have some great news.  I stopped at the business office on my way back. I was told I will have $80 to spend tomorrow. $75 of that money is going towards Amazon gift cards. I will have a field day buying books!   

I talked with Chocolatechip when I got back. She finished her laundry. She was eating lunch. We talked about the upcoming visit on May 30. She said Betty Jo will drop her of shortly after 9:00. I said I won’t be dressed until after ten. She said she will wait in the Fiesta Room. I cannot wait to see her.  

I was talking with her about a conversation I had with a girl from the business office. She mentioned a book by John Patterson and Bill Clinton. I told the lady I already read it. This lady asked me if there was a book I hadn’t read. Chocolatechip laughed at this because she asks me the same question. 

I am having a good day so far. I had two good meals and didn’t get sick. I got good news from the business office. I talked with a beautiful woman, Chocolatechip. I also have a pretty interesting book to read about the Civil War. It just doesn’t get any better.  

2:10 p.m. I just got back from getting a haircut. I feel a lot better. 

Exif_JPEG_420.

Just call me Ole Baldie.

3:12p.m. I’ve been looking at books on my wish list. Here is a list of books I want to buy in May

  1. You Like it Darker by Stephen King $14.99
  2. Camino Ghosts by John Grisham.      $14.99
  3. Calamity of Souls by David Baldacci. $14.99
  4. The Edge by David Baldacci.                 $14.99.
  5. Landscapes turned Red by Stephen W Sears $$11.30

I also might buy a two volume box set on Ulysses S Grant by Bruce Catton for $2.90 Grant takes Command and Grant Moves South. Seven books in all for $74.25.

I haven’t been reading because I can’t concentrate. I’m tool excited about the prospect of getting a $75 Amazon gift card and buying books. I was pushing myself up and down the hall to burn off steam. I ended up in the Coral Room. I just wanted to get out of my room and move around a bit.

6:27p.m. I didn’t like supper. They served macaroni and cheese with coleslaw. I ate it then got very sick and painfully bloated. I had a big lunch and wasn’t very hungry. In fact I was passing gas all afternoon. That hurt like hell as well. So I didn’t have much of an appetite to begin with.

I talked with Chocolatechip after I ate. We were talking about Eddie the Mooch. She had an unpleasant run in with him. He said something smart to her. She is definitely cutting her losses with him. She claims he was looking for a reason to end the friendship. He was looking for a fight as an excuse to end it. She might be right. I said I think he is just a chicken shit and was playing you all along. I hope she means it this time.

My stomach has settled a bit. I still feel painfully constipated . Also passing gas that hurts as well. I’ve been sick like this all afternoon. I hope this doesn’t keep me from reading tonight. I’d like to finish Chapter 10. I’m going to give it a try.

8:51p.m. All is right with the world. I just got a shower and I feel great. The aide I had tonight was excellent. She cleaned me up good and got me in bed. My stomach has settled down and I’m not in pain. This enabled me to do some reading in Gettysburg before my shower. I read for about an hour. 

I’m in bed now but I’m not ready to call it a night. I want to stay up and finish Chapter 10 in my book. Life is good!   

10:05p.m. I’m still wide awake. I’m trying my best to concentrate on Chapter 10 I read about twenty pages tonight. But it is getting harder and harder. I keep thinking about the da!ned gift card and books Im getting tomorrow. I’m like an alcoholic without a key to the liquor cabinet. I’m so close to buying books I want but yet tomorrow seems so far.

I’m so wired tonight. I will not be able to sleep. Still I have to somehow finish reading Chapter 10. Wish I can concentrate. I got to keep my eyes on the prize. But I keep thinking $75 Amazon gift card and books. Dammit to hell why can’t I just focus on one thing at a time?

s

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
May 14, 2024

Looking dapper there, Bear!

May 14, 2024

Yay!  I’m so happy for you that you are going to get a good sized Amazon gift card and that you can buy the books you want.  Also that Chocolatechip is coming for a visit.  What a good day you had!