Wednesday 5/1/24

1:06p.m. The nursing home must have me on some new meds. I’ve been sleeping most of the morning. Then again I didn’t have a very good night. I started to have very painful muscle spasms in my left leg. This went on for an hour before or I got some Tylenol from the nurse. She also elevated my feet and that helped.   

Sleep was intermittent after that. I kept waking up from weirdo dreams. I had this one dream where I was a college professor. I was teaching a class on the benefits of playing chess. I was teaching them the intro to chess strategy. Then I had a dream about books 0f all things. In particular was a book, I think on psychology. I had other dreams as well but these two stand out.  

My morning didn’t start out very good. I couldn’t drink the coffee be because it was cold again. Breakfast was skimpy consisting of a sweet roll and cold scrambled eggs. I ate the roll but couldn’t stomach the eggs. Then I fell asleep until Chocolatechip called. 

Chocolatechip was in good spirits today. This is her payday. She was talking about going to the bank, city building then taking the bus to Walmart. After that she wanted to go to Shop and Save for groceries. So she will be out most of the day.  She also said her knee was much better and not swollen. 

Chocolatechip also said a lady from WV Choice is going to pay a visit. The appointment is at 9:20 We both figure this is an assessment and to check up on the condition of her apartment.i said it should go well because your apartment is always clean.    

I fell asleep again after our talk. The aides woke me up. They changed my briefs, dressed me and got me in my wheelchair. I fell asleep again after they left. I slept in my chair until 11:30.   

Lunch was good. I had two pork roll sandwiches and potato wedges. I ate it all and didn’t get sick. The coffee was barely warm but I drank it anyway. Lunch perked me up and I think I’m up for good.  

2:54p.m. I’m in bed already. I’m glad to be off the hoyer pad. Chocolatechip called. She got her shopping done. She she got a ride home from her ex husband Doug and his sister Cathy. They stopped at the Dairy Queen for lunch. I said it sounded like you had a good payday. I was happy for her. We talked a few minutes then she wanted to put away groceries.    

I am having a good day. I’ve been sleeping a lot but I’m still having a good one. I hope I can stay awake and read my book Chancellorsville this afternoon. I got to study for the big test on the Civil War. Life is good.  

4:52p.m. I feel very sick. My stomach is queezy from lunch. The nurse just gave me a dose of Mylanta. Also feel kind of depressed. I saw some books I’d just love to read. They are Theodore H White Making of the President series. I read these books a long time ago couldn’t mind reading them again.But I have  plenty of books. Even so there is always room for more. 

Still I’ve got to concentrate on the ones I have. I have a lot of unread books on my Kindle I should be content with those. Its just I have to buy a fucking book everytime I see one. I swear it is an addiction.

5:28p.m. I’m not eating supper. My stomach is still upset. I’m  missing out on meatloaf, green beans, mashed potatoes and a dinner roll. I love meatloaf but I just can’t eat it tonight. I already feel like I want to puke.  

I heard from Chocolatechip. This is bingo night at Misery Towers. She is going. Everyone chips in a small donation or brings some food. Chocolatechip said she will bring $5 and some homemade popcorn. She will go down for the social that starts at 5:30. She will call me when she gets back. I said I’m glad you are going and hope you have fun. 

I didn’t read yet. I tried but just couldn’t concentrate on my book. Stomach was giving me a very hard time.  I hope it settles down so I can read tonight. I have been reading 95 straight days. This is my all time highest record. I don’t want to keep going.   

I just refused the supper tray. I really am not feeling well tonight. I wonder if I don’t have diverticulitis. It seems I have a lot of GI problems. At one point they had me drinking metacumil . I dunno.All I know is it hurts a lot of times after a meal.   

7:38p.m. My stomach is settled . I was able to read Chancellorsville by Stephen W Sears. I read Chapter 7. This makes 96 wonderday days of reading.   

I’m very pleased with myself. I was obsessing about books but I overcame it.  I simply concentrated on the one I’ve been reading. I was able to overcome my obsessing,at least for the time being. Now its back to my book!

 

 

 

 

N

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note