Action

There’s an oft quoted verse in the Bible, “don’t point out the sliver in your neighbor’s eye, when you have a log in your own”…something to that effect.
And people use it, all the time, as a “you can’t tell me what to do because you are worse than/just as bad as I am” type thing.
But I don’t think its suppose to be about the guy with the sliver in his eye not having to listen to the guy with the log, or about how the guy with the log has no right to be saying anything to the guy with the sliver.

I think the point of the verse is merely that, while you can point out that sliver all damn day, if you have a log in your own eye, you aren’t much help to the other guy. I think the point is that the guy with the log needs to fucking get it out, so he can see to get the sliver out of the other guy’s eye.

It’s not about who should or shouldn’t be saying what or listening to who, it’s about DOING something.

 

Log in to write a note