Michael

“What are we?”

I think it’s the most awkward question.

We were laying in bed when he asked me. It made my heart beat faster and my mind just raced; it’s hard to find the words to say because the silence is awkward, and all you can think about is how you need to say something because the silence is awkward, and all that time you spend thinking about how you need say something, makes it take even longer, which makes you worry even more about the silence, which makes it take even longer.

I told him that I didn’t want to let myself fall in love with him just to go through the pain of him breaking up with me when he decided he didn’t love me anymore. I didn’t want to get hurt.

Nevertheless, I proceeded to fall in love with him.

A year later: we were laying in bed and there I was, vulnerably asking him the same awkward question:

“What are we?”

He says : I’m breaking up with you. I don’t love you anymore.

This was exactly why I never wanted to fall in love with him in the first place. I didn’t want to get hurt.

Nevertheless.
Here I am.

Log in to write a note