HELP grammar question* revision*

OK here is my cover letter that i’m going to hand in tomorrow.. through the grapevine I have heard of possible jobs at a high school in the area.. anyway.. please tell me in the second paragraph should it be diverse experience, or diverse experiences.????????????????????/ i’m too exhausted to decide..

 

I am writing to apply for the position of science teacher within the _____________District. I have completed my Master of Science in Secondary Teacher Education and have received NYS Initial certification in both biology and general science for grades 5 through 12. A review of my credentials will showcase my passion for science and my commitment to share this passion with students.
 
 
I feel my diverse experiences, including work with alternative education students and co-teaching with a special education teacher, makes me the perfect candidate for this position. During the 2006-2007 school year, I held two, very different, long term substitute positions. My first position was at _________________________ where I began the year teaching seventh grade science. I was grateful to be a part of the first year of their blended program for special education students. It was during this time that I was successfully able to co-teach with a special education colleague. The second position I held was with the ______________Alternative Middle School and Long Term Suspension programs. It was there that I had the opportunity to work with many at risk students, both at the middle and high school levels. I was able to provide excellent classroom management as well as an engaging learning environment in this alternative setting.

it has an opening and a closing paragraph with my info.. but it just wasn’t necessary to post here…ok let me know..
THANK YOU!

here is my revision… PLEASE let me know what you think!  I love that I am getting input from so many on this.  It makes me feel confident that I will have a great letter!

I am writing to apply for the position of science teacher within the _____________District. I have completed my Master of Science in Secondary Teacher Education and have received NYS Initial certification in both biology and general science for grades 5 through 12. A review of my credentials will showcase my passion for science and my commitment to share this passion with students.
 
I feel my diverse experience, which includes work with alternative education students and co-teaching with a special education teacher, make me an ideal candidate for this position. During the 2006-2007 school year, I held two very different long term substitute positions. My first position was at ________________________where I began the year teaching seventh grade science. I enjoyed being part of the first year of their blended program for special education students. It was during this time that I was successfully able to co-teach with a special education colleague. The second position I held was with the __________Alternative Middle School and Long Term Suspension programs. It was there that I had the opportunity to work with many at risk students, both at the middle and high school levels. I was able to provide excellent classroom management as well as an engaging learning environment in this alternative setting.

I might as well ask this too, on the application for this particular school district they ask you to "list below any additional points which will help in judging your suitability for a position, such as your aims, your special experience, training, talent or interests…..

should i actually list??? as in bullet points??  doesn’t seem too professional to me.. or should I write a short "essay".. just curious as to whether I should "follow the directions to a T"
 

Log in to write a note
July 19, 2007

I think diverse experiences sound right….

July 19, 2007

Experience – you’re referring to the total of everything you’ve done. Experiences – you’re stressing the plural, the fact that you’ve had lots of different kinds of experience. It depends what point you’d like to bring across.

July 19, 2007

I hope you don’t mind some severe, but hopefully constructive, criticism – I have received hundreds of these letters when employing… “I feel my diverse experiences, including work with alternative education students and co-teaching with a special education teacher, makes me the perfect candidate for this position.” Change to:

July 19, 2007

I would say without the s.

July 19, 2007

“My diverse experience makes me an ideally qualified candidate – I have worked with both alternative education students and have co-taught with a special education teacher.” {You don’t want to come acros as falsely saying you’re the only one who can do the job…) “I was grateful ” – sounds a little desperate ( I was soo grateful to have a job…), maybe should change it to “I enjoyed being

July 19, 2007

part of”… Hope you don’t mind! but like I say – I’ve read letters from applicants and thought these kinds of things – I really liked the rest of your letter – your passion shows through. Don’t want to come to NZ and teach my kids do you??? (LOL!)

July 19, 2007

OHhhh – just saw you were only asking about the experiences bit. Sorry if you don’t like my suggestions – just tell me where to go if you don’t…

July 19, 2007

Jordan says plural. 🙂 He’s my grammar police.

July 19, 2007

expierences since the next sentence is plural.

July 20, 2007

wow, i think everything i would have said has already been said lol. what is your new address?