Carnevale moments…

Venice is my favorite city in the world, especially when we travel back to the 18th century glory of Carnevale.  La Fenice, the jewel box of an opera house pictured above (sublime acoustics!) always has wonderful performances scheduled.  Last year was La Boheme, this year is Il Barbiere di Siviglia.

What Lady Wife and I most enjoy, however, is dining at one of the palazzi on the Grand Canal, followed by a leisurely post-prandial late-night stroll through the mostly deserted campi and calli on a circuitous route home.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Luckily for me, all those years of riding gave me the calf muscles to pull off the look.

Log in to write a note
January 31, 2018

I suppose you’d have to walk. No cabs to hire.

January 31, 2018

@purpleboots Well, we do have water taxis, vaporetti (waterbus) or a gondola as an option!

February 1, 2018

Pretty Elegant!

February 1, 2018

Venice and Vienna are my favorites here in Europe, and I like San Fransisco very much.