Confrérie de la Chaîne des Rôtisseurs & Me

One of the interval events that took place during the OD-Void was my elevation to Bailli (chapter president) of the Confrérie de la Chaîne des Rôtisseurs, an international epicurean society with roots going back to 1248.  There are 25,000 of us worldwide, and I am responsible for about 100 of those members in the Raleigh, Durham and Chapel Hill area of North Carolina.

Mine was what you’d call a Battlefield Promotion.  Our previous Bailli died suddenly (and unexpectedly) in April 2016.  She was 71 at the time, and had dined with us a few days previously.  She was her usual self, the picture of health, but developed a GI virus, became dehydrated, and the electrolyte imbalance put her into heart failure.  She collapsed and died suddenly at home.

Our group is unique because the membership is predominantly made up of true epicures.  These are people who know the traditions, techniques, and creativity that goes into the preparation, presentation, pairing and serving of fine food.  Don’t call us foodies.  Foodie is a derogatory term for the people who write half-baked Yelp reviews and once took a cooking course at Sur La Table, and now think they are experts.  Foodies like fads, and we usually refer to them as the Cronut Crowd.  While respecting all the traditions of camaraderie and fine service at the table, there is nothing stuffy or pretentious about the group.  We have an amazing amount of fun, and events are always full of laughter, friendly debate and friendship.

Our bailliage (or chapter) was started in 1987, so I had the distinct pleasure of overseeing the celebration of our 30th anniversary at the beginning of November.  Major events like this are always formal, and we also included our annual induction of new members.

  

It was a gratifying experience, and as we were departing for Europe the next evening, a great way to close out the year.  Our previous Bailli died 1 year into her 3-year term, so I was “appointed” in 2016 to complete her term of office.  In July I was formally elected to the post for an additional 3-year term, so 2018-2020 I am on the hook.  (Happily, if I want out at any time, I can appoint a successor, and make it their problem!)

What I DON’T want is to become a “lifetime” Bailli, as has been done in other chapters.  Foremost, I don’t think it’s healthy.  A term or two is enough to make your mark, innovate, and then hand the reins to someone else.  I admit to enjoying the events much more when I didn’t have to plan them!  It’s nice to buy your tickets, show up, enjoy a good meal, and go home.  I’ve done my piece, using 21st century technology (Social Media, electronic invitations, online booking, etc.) to move the bailliage forward.  My predecessor still snail-mailed invitations, and you had to mail a paper check in return!  Who uses checks anymore?

We hold one or two events a month, anything from a $45 wine tasting to a $200 multi-course dinner with rare vintages.  In 2017 I held a Wild Game Dinner, a Gin Tasting, a Julia Child Dinner, a Picnic en Blanc, a Chianti Dinner, and a Wine vs. Sake Sommelier Challenge.  2018 will see a Burns Night Supper, a Carnevale Dinner, and a Rare Vintages Evening.

So much to do!

Log in to write a note
January 2, 2018

How wonderful for you, and how nice to learn something about an organization I knew nothing about! I do love the term “Cronut Crowd” 😂

January 2, 2018

waw, impressive !! Sound nice !

January 2, 2018

Nice! I laughed about the checks. My last checkbook register lasted ten years. Currently I write a check for the woman who cuts my hair every six or seven weeks, and one for the neighborhood kid who is running his own trash business three times a year. Oh, and my niece’s kid periodically in the summer when he cuts the grass for us in Asheville since we aren’t there to cut it. I really wish all these people would start taking PayPal!

January 3, 2018

That sounds so impressive and fun. Thanks for sharing about that, I had no clue it even existed.