Crazy people…

In 38 years living in Manhattan, not ONCE did Lady Wife and I ever venture near Times Square on December 31st, and neither did anyone we know.  Real New Yorkers spend their lives avoiding Times Square the other 364 days of the year, and it becomes even more of an anathema on New Years Eve.  When you look at the video and photos of the revelers packed cheek-to-jowl, I can guarantee you one thing – they are all tourists.

Who else would be dumb enough to show up at 10AM to secure a spot, and don adult diapers because they know they will not have any access to restrooms?  And this year, when the temperature was 9F (with a windchill of -4F), it took a certain level of idiocy to endure that for the “pleasure” of watching a ball drop.  Spending the day pissing one’s self is probably less-than-wonderful under optimal conditions (if there is such a situation), but how much more unpleasant must that be in arctic temperatures?

So what are the authentic Manhattanites doing while the Bridge & Tunnel crowd freeze and fill their Depends?  Our tradition was to go to the Metropolitan Opera, which had a midnight supper and dance after the performance.  You could always spot the Old Guard, as we still dressed (black or white tie for men, and gowns for women) for the occasion.  Similar events were happening at the clubs, restaurants and museums all over the city.  Private cocktail parties and suppers were also popular, especially with those whose apartments came with a view.

How much more civilized than frostbite, a full diaper and bone-crushing crowds.

Log in to write a note
January 1, 2018

I heard the same thing from a guy I use to work with. He’s originally from Queens.

January 1, 2018

I’ve heard Times Square was smelly but it’s never been explained so pungently.

ryn: Yes, but the Aussies banned most handguns and all assault rifles.

January 1, 2018

I always think about how miserable it must really be to be there. I can’t even imagine

*tx
January 1, 2018

That is a strange ritual for humans to do. I watch the ball fall but on tv from my warm living room.

January 2, 2018

I laughed a lot while reading your entry. I was in Times Square during only 10 minutes in my life and that was enough.

Diapers – omg, really…. (laughing….)

January 3, 2018

I was telling my mom that Times Square would NEVER be on my bucket list or something I would ever want to do in person. I’ll gladly watch it on the tv though.