It’s like being kissed by a lusty mermaid…

You can keep the necessities; it’s the luxuries I cannot live without!  Planning for our August Champagne & Caviar event, I was on the phone yesterday with the producer of the Osetra caviar.  They offered me a wholesale account, which I accepted immediately.  1,000 grams (about 34 oz.) of Classic Osetra is $950, while the Superior Osetra (my favorite) is $1,300 for the same amount.  About half the retail price, so an amazing deal!

The plan for the event is to have three tasting stations.  Station #1 would be some of the “lesser” caviars. Maybe Paddlefish, Hackleback or White Sturgeon, with bottles of a non-vintage Champagne. Perhaps some smoked sturgeon and/or smoked salmon.

Station #2 would be Classic Osetra with magnums or double magnums of a vintage Champagne.

Station #3 would be the ultimate – Superior Osetra paired with a jeroboam of a well-aged vintage Champagne.

I am a purist when it comes to caviar.  It’s best enjoyed right off the spoon, or at most on a blini with some Crème Fraîche.  Some people like the addition of capers, chopped onions, and/or chopped hard-boiled egg, but I think that’s just gilding the lily.  But we’ll have the accompaniments for those that are into that sort of thing.

Best of all, the producer is sending a representative to talk about their production methods, conservation and sustainability efforts, as well as the traditions of caviar.

Log in to write a note
May 31, 2018

Sounds fun!

kat
May 31, 2018

yum! I actually have a Champagne and caviar party every summer for my husband’s crew of a 30. Starts out as a classy semi black tie event and by evening everyone switches to swim suits and enjoys night time swim

June 1, 2018

bone or ivory spoons of course…

June 1, 2018

I would imagine you love Petrossian on W. 58th. What a gorgeous building! I ate there only once but it was fantastic.

June 4, 2018

@lakeland Do you remember when the film Babette’s Feast came out in 1987?  We went to see the film, then to Petrossian afterwards where they re-created the meal.  (As close as possible, anyway.)  Such a great spot.

June 5, 2018

@bedlamhillfarm Wow that sounds like a great time!

June 2, 2018

I keep meaning to look for caviar at our big grocery store.  Maybe this entry will help me remember.

November 12, 2020

Y.U.M.

I love caviar!