There, I’ve said it…

Anthony Bourdain was NOT a nice person.  I know several people who have known and worked with him for decades.  Pre- and post-fame, sober and strung out on heroin.  And they all have said that his television persona was a complete act.  In reality, the terms most often used to describe him were, “Prick” and “Asshole”.  Bourdain exhibited all the unprofessional behaviors in the kitchen, and when others were accused of the same he wagged his own finger at them.  This automatic conveyance of sainthood upon anyone’s death – regardless of their actual behavior in life – mystifies me.

I dined at Les Halles in NYC a few times, and would not classify his cooking as masterful or creative.  He was a dime-a-dozen talented line cook at best, and became one of those “celebrity chefs” (which is truly not a positive statement) because of his book and persona.  And while I found his first book entertaining and enlightening, he became a self-professed expert on everything – politics, religion, clowns, you name it.  The transition from talented entertainer to pretentious jerk was swift.  A Japanese friend of ours (and owner of a much-lauded restaurant) was extremely offended by his dictates on “the only right way to eat sushi.”  Her comment was that a round-eye Heroin addict has no authority to make pronouncements on Japanese tradition – and that he was dead wrong.

There hasn’t been any mention yet of a note, so perhaps he chose not to share the reason for his suicide.  Toxicology result will be interesting – one person who worked with him said, “Tony was never off heroin.”  Another believes it might have been auto-erotic asphyxiation gone wrong.  Truth will come out in the end, I’m sure.

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
June 11, 2018

Regardless of whether he was an asshole and I have no doubt that he probably was, I just liked his shows. I hate to hear of anyone losing that battle with personal demons. I’ve had a few myself.

 

kat
June 11, 2018

I did not know him personally but I know someone who did. she said mostly he was just as he seemed but had bad days.. I guess we all do

June 11, 2018

It’s so sad that people have to die so soon. But then there are those who are better off dead…I know a few….

June 11, 2018

I’ve known you a long time here on OD.  I respect that you never ascribe to herd mentality and that you always tell your truth.  I also know from past interaction with you when my mother was dying what a truly kind and caring man you are.

June 11, 2018

So – you think it’s okay he lost his battle with his personal demons?

June 12, 2018

@onlysujema Do we even know that’s the case?  For all we know, he got a terminal diagnosis and decided to go out on his own terms.  If, in fact, this choice came about as a result of his inability to beat his addictions or depression, it’s not for me or you to approve or disapprove.  His life, his body, his choice.

June 12, 2018

@bedlamhillfarm  – no – actually – we don’t know anything.  Or, I certainly don’t.  I’m only familiar with this man’s public persona – which, in fact was quite compelling. I think he was, like most of us, a complex combination of divine and hellish traits.  And it was his choice.  you’re right about that.