Just stop!

I am so flipping annoyed by all the people telling me ” you would lose all the weight you want if you try keto” or “look into Keto” keto this , keto that blah blah blah. Listen up, not everything works for everyone. End of story.
I have been fat my entire life. I have tried it all. Cabbage soup, military diet, WW, Atkins(pretty much the same as keto), low carb, you name it, I have done it. I strongly feel that any diet that makes you give up an entire food group is not sustainable and sets you up for failure. Every time I have done elimination diets I have failed.
And for all you keto freaks, I tried it. It made me so sick! Not just “keto flu” but i was sick to my stomach all the damn time. I have had stomach issue for the last ten years and my stomach cannot handle that much fat.
What works for me is the simple calorie counting. Yes I do watch the amount of carbs I eat. But i do not cute them out. If i am craving toast, I have a damn piece of toast. I also watch my sugar intake. But for me, eliminating foods makes me fail. Can we please stop diet shaming and come together and support each other, no matter how we do it?

Log in to write a note
January 5, 2020

UGHHH Atkins is the worst thing ever. I had to leave it ’cause it got me to where I kept fainting. I don’t even know all those other ones you mentioned lol. Have you considered hypnotherapy? I have not myself (yet!) but from a few very close friends, it’s done wonders for them, & not just for weight loss. If you do want to stick to the usual calorie-counting, try MyFitnessPal.com – I used it before I went on WW, it was a good tracker, & it also helps you monitor your H20 intake, & your exercise, for which it rewards you by giving you more calories to eat, has a huge database of foods, and it’s actually free).

And of course all the keto cultists are wrong. It’s WW you gotta try 😛 (No, seriously, it’s what’s worked best *for me*, & you don’t have to try it if you don’t want to, but it does the calorie-counting in a less obvious way – I think the psychology of it is what makes me follow through).

January 5, 2020

I have always been overweight. Even in High School when working out and running, I was still overweight.
Now I just try to stay healthy, but most importantly, I try to be happy with myself!
Have a blessed and happy day!

January 5, 2020

I think if keto works for people more power to them, but I’ve always been a little worried about the cholesterol aspect of it for my own body.

I say do whatever works for you. And I do agree that deprivation leads to binges for me.

January 5, 2020

Everyone’s body is different. What works for some, won’t work for others. You know your body better than anyone, you know what works and what doesn’t. Keep doing what is working for you.

January 5, 2020

i tried keto. not having a gallbladder made that a gross adventure. lol