Flashback

When I first heard OD was coming back, I couldn’t wait to get back to this place.  A friend of mine told me about this site in 2001.  I was a senior in high school and was getting ready to graduate in May.  I browsed the site and decided to sign up.  I never thought to have a diary in the first place, but this became my home, and I’ve met a lot of lifelong friends from this site.

The last entry I was able to post was in 2013.  I had just started working for FedEx while working for Sears part time.  I was hired right around the time of the Christmas rush and was given a supplemental route.  In essence, I would take a couple of areas from different drivers to make their routes easier during the period after Thanksgiving and before New Years.  When the Christmas season is over, all the helpers are terminated unless a contractor wants to hire them full-time.  I was one of the lucky ones to remain with FedEx after the Christmas season.

This also happened to be around the time when I would officially meet my then-girlfriend in person.  Jasmine and I started dating in April of 2013, but we didn’t meet until January of ’14.  It’s also a memorable time because the original snowmaggedon happened in Atlanta a few days later.  Thanks to snowmaggedon, I lost my job at FedEx and went back to working at Sears full-time.  A former classmate continued reaching out to me wanting to know if I would be interested in working for her and her husband.  They owned routes and was on the search for more drivers when my name came up.  I agreed to work with them, and that partnership lasted from March ’14 until May ’16 when I agreed to start making deliveries at Emory University.

My days are very hectic.  I usually wake up around 4:30 a.m. and won’t get home until like 6:30 on average.  I’ll get into more of my backstory in another entry, but I will briefly take a moment to talk about what I’ve been up to currently.

I went ahead and purchased advanced tickets to see The Black Panther tomorrow around 5.  I’ve practically watched every Marvel film except a couple here and there.

Outside of going to the movies tomorrow, I plan on taking it easy the rest of the weekend.  I do need to clean up my apartment and do a little grocery shopping.  It’s supposed to rain all weekend too.  I also fully upgraded my OD subscription.  I love how easy it is to upload pics and definitely love the addition of the search function lol.

 

Well, I’m going to get off of here and get ready for bed.  Hope you all have a great weekend!

 

Log in to write a note
February 17, 2018

Welcome back, it’s great to see you here!

February 17, 2018

Enjoy the movie today let me know how you like it 🙂

February 18, 2018

My life has been a freaking roller coaster since 14 lmao. I will do an update maybe today. I remember you working at sears when I was reading you. I can’t remember where does your fiance live? That’s great that you guys have been together and are getting married! I’m trying to get back to writing more often. I’m glad OD is back, too

February 21, 2018

welcome back