Gone

Day 14 – Write about someone who is no longer a part of your life. Could be a love, a friend, a relative. Why aren’t they a part of your life anymore?

I haven’t been able to participate in nojomo, but this prompt captured my attention and one I can definitely relate to.

 photo meandelaie.jpg

This is my former best friend and me during our high school band’s trip to Disney World in 11th grade.

Elaine and I actually met in middle school. Since we rarely had classes together, I never had the chance to really get to know her until high school. We took Music Appreciation together and started talking to one another. She would always come to me for advice, and we would spend the entire class just talking to one another. We grew closer and became great friends during that year. Since we were both loners, we would often spend lunch together. She became like a sister to me. We ended up graduating together and vowed to stay in each other’s lives forever.

We hung out a few times together after we graduated. She would come over to my house. I would go over to her house, or we would go to football games together. Even though we spent a lot of time together, our friendship was strictly friends only. I had thoughts of dating her, but I knew her parents wouldn’t approve; she also grew up only wanting to date white men.

I indirectly introduced her to her soulmate that year as well. I introduced her to a social media site where she met Travis. Even though Travis lived in Montana at the time, she fell in love with him just by looking at his picture. They both fell in love, and he agreed to drive down to Georgia to see her. Eventually, she agreed to pack up her belongings and move with him back to Montana.

During this time, she wanted me to take care of her dog, Angel, because her mom and step-dad wouldn’t be able to take care of her. I told her I would be more than happy to do that.

 photo imgp0013.jpg

Meanwhile, Elaine and Travis were planning to get married in 2007. I was invited to the wedding and was actually going to be IN the wedding. Unfortunately, I was going through major financial troubles, and I knew I wouldn’t be able to make it. I wanted her to at least send me pics of the wedding.

Elaine and Travis came to visit me back in 2008. They came to my apartment, and we went to the movies and had Waffle House for dinner. I know at one point they moved to Vancouver, WA, and we were still able to stay in touch with one another. A couple of years later, her mom passed away unexpectedly. Elaine was going to the funeral and wanted me to go. I had to work, so I was unable to attend the funeral.

At some point, however, she stopped accepting my phone calls and wouldn’t respond to any of my texts. I was puzzled and tried to figure out what was going on. She wasn’t on FB at the time, but her husband was. I tried reaching out to him, but I eventually gave up.

I have absolutely no idea why she stopped staying in touch. Maybe we just drifted apart? I do miss her, but I realized that you can’t force someone to stay in touch with you. People are meant to enter and leave our lives at certain points. I have no ill will towards her or her husband. I truly appreciate the friendship we had, and I wish her nothing but the best.

Log in to write a note
November 14, 2013

Beautiful entry. I wish she had stayed in touch though!