~1st entry’s Explanation -6

Sitting on a Skate going Down the Street; -His Friend Taylor & him would do this down our sidewalks most of the time, and a few times I know of in the street.

Sneaking to the Ditch and 7-11; -I only heard about this AFTER he was gone. His Sister informed me that he went to the ditch a lot and would go to 7-11 about 5 blocks away when I went to volunteer at the Senior Citizen Place during the Summer. (Sarah said she was asked several times if she wanted to go to 7-11, but she declined cause she had a fear of getting caught. It seems my son didn’t have that same fear. Makes me wonder about him…how he might of been in his teen years.)

Little Debbie Snacks; -He loved all these little Debbie snacks and shared them with all of the neighborhood kids.

Fried Eggs; -I liked Fried Eggs to, so this was something in common that we shared. He always wanted his Fried Egg crispy on the Bottom.

Your Love for Football & Betting With Dad who would Win; -He loved to watch Monday Night Football with his Dad and they would Bet who would win.. Just for fun. Nathan also loved to Play Football to with his friends. He was looking forward to being on the 7th grade Football Team.

A&W Rootbeer; -He loved this Soda.

Hair Gel & Mousse; -He knew from a young age just how he wanted his Hair. He did the Spiked thing in the 1st Grade, and the Flat Top in the 2nd Grade. In the 4th Grade I talked him into a normal military little boy Hair Cut. I love that Picture. It is the only *normal* haircut he ever had. He also seemed to know the difference between the women who cut his hair and the men. And it got to the point that he would refuse a Woman to cut his hair. I didn’t really see much of a difference, just that he seemed to get a few Women who weren’t very good Hair Cutters.

Catching the Biggest Fish; -One of the many times his Dad and him went Fishing, He caught the Biggest Fish.

Fishing until We were Numb; -Nathan and his Dad would go Ice Fishing.. and they’d fish till they were good and cold and had enough!

Your Hysterical Laugh; -Nathan had this laugh that just made you laugh when you heard it. My Youngest Nephew has this same Laugh.. In fact my youngest Nephew is a lot like Nathan in many ways.

Playing Kick the Rock; -Nathan and I would play Kick the Rock on the way to School. The School was about a ¼ mile. And to make the walk funner, we played that game. Now in Colorado so many people have Rock yards. So we painted our rocks a bright Color so we could find them.

Finding You at the Forbidden Apartments; -Nathan was not allowed to leave the Street. I was a very overprotective Mom and had to know where he was at all times. Down the street was these apartments. One day I couldn’t find him. My heart racing. I drove all over the neighborhood, then spotted him at the Apartments. I came driving up, and said, “Get Home!” He was Grounded for a week over that.

Spiked Hair; -The family was shocked when they got those First Grade Pictures of this little boy with Spiked Hair. That’s what he wanted.

Your Bike; -He got his first bike when he was in the 1st grade. He rode it in the Cul-de-sac across the street. Eventually I allowed him to ride it up and down the street. Eventually he got a Mountain Bike, Not even sure why he got it but he never rode it, just mainly that first bike. (After the Bike Accident & after he was gone 1 month later, I sent that 1st bike to the Dump. It was like a Curse to me).

“I’ll Get the Mail!”; -He loved to get the Mail for me.

Black Leather Jacket & Sunglasses (Looking Cool!); -I remember this one time he was like in Elementary School that we went to eat at the Hungry Farmer and He had on his Black pants, (fake) Leather Jacket and Sunglasses. One of the Waiters gave him the Thumbs up and said he was *Cool* course he ate that up! He thought he was soooo Cool!

Tent Sleeping in Gabe’s Backyard; -Nathan and Gabe would sleep in his backyard in the Summer times. There was rumor, that they would walk the streets in the middle of the night. Taylor claims this is true. He said that Nathan and Gabe and Delvon even went to Safeway. Nathan denied it. Gabe denied it. One time Nathan spent the night at Taylor’s and the next day he came home and said that Taylor wanted to sneak out but he said no… I believed Nathan…… But now… well His Sister Sarah tells me that some of this is true. That little sneak! I could always tell when Nathan was lying but obviously he was getting to be too sneaky…

Microscope; -Nathan enjoyed his Microscope. Dissecting things. He thought that was cool.

GooseBump Books; -Nathan loved reading these books. Sarah enjoyed them too and so did I. We all read them together.

That Goofy Talk that All the Moms Hated Their Sons Doing too; -Nathan would talk in this weird voice along with his Silly Highs.. And of course his friends picked up on this and tried this on their own parents. These Boys bounced off of each other. The Parents totally Hated their Sons sounding like Nathan. Some of them even got in trouble for it.. LOL

Roller Blades; -We got some used Roller Blades from a Relative. When the kids learned how to use them I bought them their own. They would take them to Skate City. (I never did get the hang of them, but Nathan would attempt to teach me. He was so Patient).

Your Sweet innocent Looking Eyes; -I have a Picture of those eyes they way they looked so innocent. Whenever he did something bad, I melted to those eyes. I think I tended to discipline him less cause of those eyes. Or I tended to give in to those Eyes more than his Sister. Course she learned very quickly that the way to get things was to have Nathan ask. When Sarah was about 8 she pointed this out to me that I always said, “Yes” to Nathan, and not always “Yes” to her. From that day forth I had to break myself of that. I just hadn’t seen what I had been doing.

~to be continued~

Log in to write a note

what a gift he was and the memories and pieces of himself that are still with you are so touching. we went through the gel stage in the primary grades as well. i always loved it when my son buzzed his hair.

you write about so many of those simple pleasures in life that we take for granted with our children. it breaks my heart and inspires me to make sure i try not to let too many of those moments slip by. my boys have that same feeling for their hairdos. i should buy stock in hair gel. 🙂 *hug*

February 12, 2002

Mia’s right..the simple pleasures are what its all about. The smells that remind you of him, the dent, the pogs, his favorite things. I’m sorry he’s gone, but so glad you have so many good thoughts now.

How do you remember all the little things? Did you keep a diary while NAF was still with you. I still play ‘kick the rock’ on my walks home from the bus stop each afternoon. I feel foolish some times, if people happen to see me, but that doesn’t stop me.

February 23, 2002

~~pearl

February 23, 2002

Goose Bumps Books (sigh).