the ghost of mae west

Monday (also known as our Friday) was the end of a long week of shooting. We’re moving to a night schedule now, so it’s going to be a lot of black out curtains and Nyquiladas for yours truly. I discovered Friday that Saved has a listing on IMDB. It’s full of factual errors, but whatever. A week or two ago a diarist accused me of lying about the whole thing because (s)he couldn’t find our movie on IMDB. I was all ready to leave a note along the lines of “pucker up, buttercup” but then I found they had blocked me from their diary! The nerve. Sometimes I hate OD. But then I thought about it and, rereading that entry, it’s all over the top bragging about how fabulous and celebrity filled my life is. And while that’s true right now, in less than a month I’m going to be sitting my ass back in Loser Industries and going through a break up with B. (I’m moving out when I get back to LA. It’s time. It’s time.) Lots of love but it’s just not fixable.Oh speaking of bragging and celebrity filled moments… Michael Stipe is in town and on set. I had totally forgotten what a warm person he is. He’s pretty much the only celebrity I’ve met who I felt instantly comfortable with. His honey wagon is connected to mine by a sliding door and he heard me listening to my MP3’s of “The Free Design” and wanted to know who they were. I love “The Free Design.” They’re like the Carpenters, but not as good. They’re bad in a good way. He thought they were pretty fabulous, especially the song “Butterflies are Free.” I burned him a CD of it. In addition to being in town for our movie, REM is coming up later this month to record their new album in Vancouver. Michael’s staying at his friend Douglas Coupland’s house. Sigh. So trying to score an invite over to Doug’s house. LOVE HIM!The night got a little tense though when we started shooting Macaulay’s scene. He’s been a little problematic. Sometimes he’s really good. Like the food court scene we shot last week was fantastic. But he doesn’t take direction well. And sometimes he does his character all wrong. His character’s supposed to be cool. He’s the bitter wheelchair bound brother who smokes and hangs out with strippers. Instead he’s coming across as sometimes nerdy, sometimes gay. Monday night it seemed like Macaulay was channeling Mae West as he read his lines. “Maaahray, darling it’s not her prom… … … … … It’s all of aaaaahhhhrs!” What?!? CUT! B was trying his best. S said he wanted to go over there and strangle Mac. He wanted to go over there and say, “do this right or we’re going to get Kieren (sp?) to come in and do ADR.” (ADR: additional dialog recording) B got all Otto Preminger on his ass, “Again, Macaulay… Say it again.” B made him say the lines over and over with the cameras rolling. He tried rewording the lines, taking out the words that Macaulay was camping up. It must have been kind of embarrassing. But his performance was so affected, I just don’t know what he was doing. B never broke down and gave him a line reading. In the end we got pieces of what we need that we can edit together. But it was long hard work. I’m scared that the tuxedo is making him act that way. He feels all dressed up and saucy. Super weirdo moment was when Macaulay was telling me that his favorite movie is Whatever Happened to Baby Jane?. I was like, “oh my God! You are Baby Jane.” And he’s not gay, either. Maybe it’s left over gay from his role in Party Monster.My manager is in town. He just got here today. He’s a nice enough guy but dang he’s just not smart enough. We had sushi and awkward conversation. He was asking me if I hung out with the actors much. I was like, “BK, they’re kids. I mean they’re nice and all but I don’t have anything to talk to them about. Like I’m going to go out, get drunk and sing Kareoke with Mandy Moore? I don’t need any extra humiliation in my life.” He came over to our hotel and watched some of the dailies with his cell phone ringing ever 5 minutes. He then asked me if I had been snow boarding since I had been up here. I told him that I had a doctor’s note explaining that I was gay. Anyway, I prefer my arms and legs unbroken. He went back to his hotel for his 6 PM in room massage which I was unfortunate enough to hear about when I met him at the hotel. The horror… I think a massage would leave me more stressed out than before I got it. The thought of some total stranger rubbing their bacteria infested hands all over me… all the while making absurd comments about the weather and how I’m “real tense.” “Of course I’m tense, get your slut of a hand off me!” What a nightmare!More celebrity activity in the weeks ahead. Jack and Kelly Osbourne are friends with Mandy and they’re supposed to be coming out here next week to visit her. I hope MTV comes with them because we need all the publicity we can get. I love our publicist, but she’s not very good I’m afraid. She sent over this “potential questions” sheet for me to review before my interview on Saturday. First of all there were more spelling mistakes than you could shake a stick at. I mean, I make spelling errors, but spell check is so easy. Secondly, these questions are not going to be asked of me. It’s going to be much more stupid and celebrity oriented. Frankly I’m astonished they want to interview me at all. I mean, can you name one screenwriter? Nobody knows screenwriters. To quote Joe Gillis in Sunset Boulevard (The movie, not that Andrew Webber atrocity) “No one knows writers exist. They just think the actors make it up as they go along.”Top five:

1. My new Desiel coat is so freaking fabulous. It’s a gray wool number that makes me look like Nosferatu.
2. Watching Michael get excited about “The Free Design.” “This is fantastic! They should be on the sound track album!”
3. Noodles snoring gently on the sofa.
4. Fantastic sushi. Really top notch.
5. Found the station that plays “Art Bell, Coast to Coast” up here. I should call in about the ghost of Mae West.

Log in to write a note

i dont think you come across wrong. i think you lead a wonderful and HARD working life. you deserve all the hobnobbing. and anyone who reads regularly knows that you dont enjoy it as much as others do. since no baby noodles update i guess its all getting better huh??

Why is the wheelchair bound brother bitter? Not to bother you, but you should know that disabled people are getting really tired of such portrayals! Seems like a lot of movie production is moving to Canada these days, too.

October 10, 2002

Oh wow, good luck with the breakup. And I’m sorry, but I can’t see Mac as anyone remotely cool, but I could be surprised. (grin)

October 10, 2002

I’m fascinated with this process and love to read about your brushes with celebrity. I do miss the Mean Grandma stories.

As if someone blocked you. It’s not as if you haven’t worked hard to get where you are right now. I definitely think you have full bragging rights! Besides, I like reading about it!

I can’t say how much I love your take on the behind the scenes stuff. You could make a documentary out of it. Whatever! That was to the person that blocked you. They probably still read anyway. Jerky.

RYN: Good, I was worried. The reason being is that hollywood tends to portray disabled people as “brave” or “tragic” or “bitter, lonely, and angry” rather than full characters with full lives. Our other complaint is that disabled people are always, always portrayed by able-bodied actors. That may seem like a strange complaint to you, but it imagine if black people were always portrayed by whites.

Cont… no matter how “good” a portrayal of a disabled person might be, we still think a disabled person could do it better… there are those who say “that isn’t acting”, but of course it is, because it is portraying a different character than someone really is- to accept that it isn’t acting is to say that the only purpose of a disabled character is his/her disability.

RYN about poverty: I guess you’re right, it’s just hard because I have always been poor (even when I lived with my parents) and I always worried about money. I work 80-90 hours a week, get very little sleep, and still scrape by. Granted most of that 80-90 is for my college degree, but it’s still frustrating. However, I am happier today. My toenail puts me in a bad mood at the end of the day. 🙂

October 10, 2002

When I saw Susan Sarandon on t.v. (being wished happy birthday), I thought of you and your FABULOUS new gal pal! I was INSANELY jealous, dear poodle. When do I get my red carpet invite?

October 10, 2002

i saw an interview with macaulay about a year ago. i would bet my entire life savings and everything i own on the fact that that kid is gay. my gaydar was effing screaming!

Max
October 10, 2002

You’re real tense.

Max
October 10, 2002

RYN – Hey, that was a mean note.

October 10, 2002

You should really stir it up in the interview, then! Give ’em a real shtick, and have a good time. Make ’em remember you! You’ve got time to formulate answers. If anyone can make it an unforgettable interview, it’s you. —

October 10, 2002

Incidentally, I LOVE Art Bell’s show. Listen almost every night. He’s so RUDE to the whackos who call in! —

October 10, 2002

your “doctor’s note” made me HOWL! god! yer a funny funny funny guy! and because i love you so much i will quash my JEALOUSY over the whole Michael Stipe thing. and way to go on making the i’m-moving-out decision. end of note.

October 10, 2002

Read the part about the doctor’s note and laughed so hard a piece of orgasm cookie flew out of my nose. Ouch. Thanks, I think. RYN: who’s your favorite author?

October 10, 2002

I can attest to the fact that you are here in Vancouver – I’ve seen the pics in the province! You can’t make this stuff up hon 😉 By the way, the sushi does ROCK here…some fab places, as I’m sure you have found out. Take care,

October 10, 2002

I know your movie is true!!! I read about it and was like “THAT’S THE MOVIE!!!”

October 10, 2002

Well, I for one, hope this takes off for you and that you will NOT be back at looser at anytime! 🙂 Congrats, it sounds heavenly and you worked your buns off for it….Plus really good Sushi to boot?! Wow! Enjoy!

Err, is it a print or TV interview, and where can we read it?

October 10, 2002

If you show up on season 2 of The Osbournes I will have a heart attack because it will all be too much for me. Enjoy every minute of recognition you get and tell your critics to kiss your ass!

October 11, 2002

This is just vintage you, this entry. I thoroughly enjoyed it. I was talking up your movie to all the expats in my area. I don’t think anyone believes me that there is such a movie, but just you wait! Plus, the Japan expats are so your demographic. Bitter liberals, the whole lot.

Max
October 11, 2002

RYN RYM RYN – No, the other note. The one about everyone cheating on each other. I wasn’t cheating on either one of them. Really.

I got my first erection listening to “Fables of the Reconstruction.” There is something about that voice.

Max
October 11, 2002

RYN – Yes, I am tense. Won’t you give me a massage? You don’t even have to wash your hands.

October 11, 2002

BP, I would just like you to know, I see you flirting, dirty slut.

October 13, 2002

Ah… I lerv Art Bell! And hon, my gadar has been up on MaCaulay since Home Alone. Looks like a duck…quacks like a duck…

October 21, 2002

Holy crap, Art Bell is my secret hobby! No wonder I love you. P.S. My friends think you and your celeb-filled life are a fiction I have created in my brain. Whatever.