needs.

Sitting in my least favorite place, I ask for a softness to overcome my heart that becomes hardened by the chaos and the attitude and the neediness. I don’t know what else to do so I pray. Father, I know a lot of these people come from dark places, please be the light in their darkness. Because we all need, to varying degrees, by mistakes or through no fault of our own.

The numbers count up, black card white card, people come, they go. But mostly just sit and wait, sometimes for hours, but always for as long as necessary. Ask for help, fill out forms, show proof. Proof that we are below the line, proof that we can’t make it alone, proof that we haven’t made it yet, and most likely never will.

Its sad and sometimes scary. We wouldn’t wish for anyone else’s problems here. Pride stays at the door. Because we all need in some form or another.

Father, help us to see our real needs, to be grateful that help is available. Help us never take it for granted, looking around and knowing it could be so much worse.

Log in to write a note