The Afternoon Foodie

Unfortunately I have few tales of excitement to share today. Oklahomies (😂) were greeted with an overcast and bitterly cold day, and I think a vast majority of them opted to stay in hibernation mode. Well, after they bought out all of the milk and bread. I mean, predictions of ice! Oh my!!

I try to reserve Monday’s for wedding consultations and I’d like to say today was no different, but it was. Why, you ask? Because nobody showed up. Seriously. No One!! I could have been a burrito, y’all. A burrito!! I emerged from the depths of my warm, blanket cocoon for nothing. Absolutely no…okay. I lie. I scored coffee in a quiet coffee shop. That was totally worth it! Maybe.

But seriously, by the time my third bride didn’t show up I started messaging confirmation to the others and everyone wanted to cancel. (Pansiecakes!) I can admit, I was slightly relieved by this. My day was opened up without notice and I had the rare opportunity to get stuff done.

After indulging in another coffee (insert happy sigh here), I hit up the grocery store. The hubby (who, from the beginning, has been referred to as M on OD) and I have been eating Keto for over a month so trips to the store require a bit more regularity so I can keep fresh produce on hand.  By the grace of the grocery goddess, I also managed to hit all of the meat specials. The cold weather kept folks at bay and nothing was snatched up! I loaded up that cart, y’all. Loaded it UP! T-bones, roasts, sirloins, chicken…a 5 pound log of bologna. (I don’t even eat bologna, but it sounded genius at the time.) I am a Pastry Chef (ironically, I think I cook far better than I bake, and I am one hell of a baker) and self proclaimed foodie so that cart full of delicious groceries activated my foodie membrane and visions started dancing around in my head. I knew exactly what direction my day was going and it was a complete WIN!

Before I continue on about my foodie adventures, do you know how great it was to be home before noon? Y’all, I was shucking those chef clothes- leaving a trail of black and white from the door to the bedroom and dawned on the brightest, most hideously mismatched set of sweats I could find. Warm, snuggly, mismatched awesomeness.  😍😍 Laaawwwwddd!!

Anywho…

I then entered kitchen zen.

I put that blob of bologna in my (new, only used once before and oh HELL was I excited to use it) smoker along with some hot links and homemade bratwurst. Lunches for M!! #boom  Then? I ground up a mixture of chuck, sirloin, and ribeye for 18 delicious pounds of ground beef. 1/3 was packaged and frozen loose, 1/3 was packaged and frozen in patties, and the last 1/3 I made in to frickadeller, packaged and froze. Then?? I made a huge pot of veggie and beef soup in the intsant pot. And made keto bread, keto bagels, and keto energy bites. And prepped veggies for the next few days.  And made ranch.

And then? I poured myself a small walnut and toffee whiskey on the rocks, kicked my feet up, and pet my cat.

It was freaking glorious.

Now I am back on the couch with a cup of coffee and relaxing. I’m completely and utterly exhausted, too.  I really didn’t do much today, especially in comparison to what a normal day looks like, but I don’t think I have recuperated from the craziness of this weekend.  It takes a lot to wear me down, but this weekend kicked my butt. While I am happy I was able to have fun time in the kitchen, part of me wishes that I would have taken the opportunity to netflix and chill today. And by netflix and chill? I mean netflix and freeze my ass off.

Is it spring time yet? Jeesh.

 

Log in to write a note
February 5, 2018

Milk and bread! Oh my. Bet that isn’t what they normally consume

February 5, 2018

@byfaithalone I never quite understood that concept. Milk sandwiches, perhaps? 😂 I just wonder where they store the milk if the electricity goes out.

February 6, 2018

I admire your patience with baking and cooking. I am fairly good at both, but rarely do it. I suppose it’s a lot easier for me when I have an audience to prepare it for. I am glad you had a good day.