We are our own worst critics

So my best friend tagged me in a post the other day and it said Anyway, I’m proud of my best friend and her comment on it was I am. My first thought and comment back was “You’re the one to be proud of! I haven’t done anything, look at you!!! ❤️❤️❤️”

To which she wrote “ummm you built a successful business. You’re a great mom. And a super best friend.”

I wrote “awww… well you’re trained in so many areas and now literally going to save lives. After taking care of both of your parents! You should definitely be proud of yourself!!”

I literally saw her post and my brain was like whatever, I’ve accomplished nothing, you’ve accomplished it all and I think that rings true for a lot of people. She’s gone to school to be a certified nail tech, a massage therapist, now is in nursing school all while working multiple jobs and taking care of her sick parents. She lost her dad a few years back and almost lost her mom but she pulled through thankfully. Our successes may feel small to ourselves but to others they sometimes are bigger.  She and I have been best friends since junior year in high school she’s like the sister I never had. The only good part about our move this summer is that we will for the first time in my husbands 16 year military career be close enough to drive home easily. Like if we wanted to go home for the weekend we could, and my best friend lives there as well as our families. We were together and had a kid before he joined the military so we are one of the military couples from the same hometown which is really much more of a curse than a blessing.
I just wanted to write about my best friend and how we judge our selves much more harshly than our loved ones do. I’m sure it’s not just me.

Log in to write a note
January 31, 2022

aww… i can relate!

I squirm when people praise me too..

I have learned to keep quiet instead of objecting because I understand that to object to their praises and appreciation, is to refuse of their love, and for some people this equals a rejection of them, and this can hurt and sadden some people.

While i have learned to keep quiet ,  it’s still hard for me to receive their love (their appreciation) into my haert.
I have come to understand that when we do not receive their appreciation into our hearts, it means we are not receiving the nourishment for our soul, our spirit, our hearts.
I’m still learning to receive of this love.

January 31, 2022

Same as you and FQ.

I’ve never taken praise well, and I expect criticism far more than praise on the daily.  I usually don’t believe most people when I hear how good I am or some such.  It comes from a childhood of everyone telling you such a thing, or at least that’s my opinion.

Military life can be pretty tough.  I was Navy for just under 12 years and can be tougher on the family than the member…the member is used to it while the family can be…tertiary?  Ups and Downs are the norm.

I can’t remember where I’d read this, but it’s pretty well been proven that the more intelligent you are, the harder you are on yourself.  Or at least to the point where IQ overrides EQ and those genius types have so much in the way of intellect they’re stoic as they don’t have a lot of EQ and therefore no balance.

Bah…I don’t know what I’m trying to say other than, you’re quite right, a lot of us are definitely our own worst critics.  Sometimes to our extreme detriment.