Such a crappy day yesterday

Yesterday was not a great day. Both of my kids had a bad day and the spouse was grouchy. I swear when any of them are off I’m off also. It’s kind of annoying but yesterday was just a douzy. My youngest has been part of a club at school since 3rd grade and this year there’s a new person running it and is basically taking over everything and making it not what it’s supposed to be. She voiced her concern to the other administrator that she’s known since kindergarten and was told she was disrespectful. I was sitting in the room during the whole meeting (they have to be online for those meetings due to Covid) and she was never disrespectful. She voiced her opinions but she was never disrespectful. She came home in tears because she doesn’t enjoy the club anymore and her dad and I both told her to quit. It’s not worth staying in something that doesn’t make you happy. Then my son got the email he’s been waiting for for months. Early application deadlines were November 1st. There’s a whole long story about that in itself but we’ve been waiting for a decision letter from the college near where we are being relocated to. Everyone gets excited so he opens the decision letter on his computer and unfortunately they aren’t accepting him. It’s such a disappointment too. He’s been accepted everywhere else; including where we live now but the military says no you can’t stay there and it’s outrageously expensive to live here so we can’t afford for him to stay. The thing that sucks the worst is he’s such an amazing kid, his grades are amazing, he’s in clubs, sports, has volunteer time and everything. He’s tied in 1st place in the class ranking with like 45 other kids because the school is huge here. We were really counting on him being able to go to the university where we are moving and his disappointment just killed me. I feel so bad because there’s literally not a reason I can give him that he didn’t get in. 🙁 He’s not a very social kid so I don’t think he’ll talk about it to his friends or anything but I feel how sad he is about it. I think my just makes me want to cry. I’ve tried to make sure he knows that it’s okay, we will work it out, maybe he goes to community college for a semester or year and then transfers over but it just stings when we all want to stay here and he got into the school he wanted here. Anyone who tells you military life is easy is a flat out liar or single with no family. I mean I don’t even mind myself being jostled around but it’s the kids that really get screwed over. I’m not an overly positive type of person but I’m trying to be for him. Sucks because the daughter has a double header soccer game today so the 3 of us will be gone for about 5 hours today leaving him all alone to sit and dwell which isn’t ideal but he doesn’t want to go with us which I don’t blame him, I don’t want to go that long either but what can you do. My heart hurts thought. 😭

Log in to write a note
January 29, 2022

There’s always that one person who takes running a group waaaay too seriously and sucks all the fun out of it. It’s not like they’ve become CEO of a multibillion dollar company, but they act as if they have. I feel for your daughter. When something you do for fun becomes a source of mental and emotional pain, you have to leave. I hope she finds something else. As for your boy, things often work out well, even when it looks like they’re not going to. Good wished to him, too.

January 30, 2022

You are so right.  Being a military wife and having a military family is soooo difficult and takes a special sort of patience.

I’m so sorry your son didn’t get in.  But he WILL get in someplace else, never fear.  Also, most universities take a certain percentage of transfer students from community colleges, so he has a better rate of getting in.

January 31, 2022

I am sorry for how and your kids are feeling.

May this be a new lesson for them. Life doesn’t always go the way we want it, and we just need to make lemon juice out of lemons and try and make things better. May this be a learning curve.

I wouldn’t encourage your daughter to quit. Well of course if things get really bad then she should quit, but she shouldn’t give up when things don’t go her way. Looking at myself right now, I hate that I allowed myself to quite so many times and now I am living a life that is not what I wanted. I would like to blame my parents for letting me quite and letting me just do what I want, but I know it is my fault but I wish they would have been more stern and made me follow through with my goals as a child and younger adult.

I hope things get better for you all.

January 31, 2022

@ncumisa they’ve had a lot of things not go their way believe me but we’ll get through this. As far as not letting her quit the club this is actually the first time I’ve ever given her to option to quit. I’ve always pushed her to continue and fulfill her commitments even when she wasn’t enjoying it but this particular club has changed incredibly since she started 4 years ago. For her to voice her concerns and be yelled at for being disrespectful was sort of the last straw for me. If you don’t get any sort of enjoyment from something it’s maybe time to let go. This club won’t exist next year I don’t think, they’ve only got 3 members left and all are in 6th grade which is the highest year of the school so they’re all leaving. 🙁

January 31, 2022

@boring, you are right. If she isn’t enjoying it, especially if she won’t have it next year, then of course she must do what feels right for her.