All The Roads Lead Back To You

It’s funny that no matter what I do
All the roads I take lead me straight back home to you
All the granite grey motorways and tree lined avenues
In countries of the tricolore, stars and stripes of red, white and blue
It doesn’t matter where I go
I always seem to end up close to home
Oh won’t I leave myself alone
Change my address or throw away my phone
Because I’m dealing
With this badly
Surely it’s obvious for you to see
That I’m alone
Maybe someday soon it won’t feel so bad
When I can feel at home within the four walls of this bachelor pad
When this solitude seeps in and this stops feeling like a fad
When I can stop daydreaming and illustrating your name on a pad
Then I’ll be dealing
With this better
I won’t write you letters
Begging you to come back
But for now all I can do is sit right here and hope
That there’s more to life than being maudlin and the need to mope
That I will never work out which is the business end of a rope
Instead, I’ll find some mechanisms with which to cope
So that I’ll be dealing
With this gladly
Instead of badly
Sliding down this slippery slope

Log in to write a note