Exploding Star

Did the stars explode for a reason
Had they lost some of their shine
I don’t know for sure
But I will continue to opine

I asked the moonlight, but it turned pale
Waning with enthusiasm as the conversation wore on
Said that it didn’t understand the physics
Of a chemical reaction

So I read some articles about particles
Tried to get my head around fission and fusion
But I was none the wiser
And more the confusion

I guess we don’t have to understand everything
To know that something occurred
It doesn’t matter if it’s not at all clear
Or even after you’ve focused, it is all still a little blurred

Now I know you probably see some absurdity
In asking the moon to explain the secrets of the universe
You might find it a little perplexing
Or at the very least, a little perverse

But who else can I ask to unravel the unfathomable
When you are still a mystery to me
I can’t ask you to explain the universe
When I don’t even understand your intricacies.

You may as well be the exploding star to me
Well, I know you shine as bright
But when I ask about you, you’re happy to change the subject
By shedding your clothes rather than shedding any light

Is there something you’re not telling me?
That I really ought to know?
Because if you don’t tell me soon
Then like the star, I might very well explode.

Log in to write a note