Aberdyfi Pier (Oh, Mary Anne)

Oh Mary Anne, why don’t you come back to me
In the night and replace my dreams
You’ve been away now for many a year
You’ve been away since the night on Aberdyfi Pier
On bended knee, I took your hand
You facing the squall, I, the land
I told you that I loved you
As the ferry lights came into view
I asked you to be my bride
Against the applause of the rising tide
You flustered and flapped in the breeze
And covered your mouth with your sleeve
And said that you’d meet me here tomorrow night
With an answer to be whispered under moonlight
But when I turned up full of heart and hope
The tears did swirl and my my hands did grope
Onto the positive answer to my request
But then I saw your silhouette
On the deck of the passing ferry
With your luggage to the side, Oh Mary
This was not the way to break a heart
Oh Mary Anne, this was not the way to tear a life apart
So every night now, at the same time
I venture out, come rain or shine
And stand upon Aberdyfi Pier
And wait for the ferry to appear
I call you name out, a shantied serenade
That hope against hope you’ll hear one day
And on that day that I hear you accompanying
Will be the day that we can start planning our wedding
Because that’ll be the day when you say ‘I do’
That’ll be the day when once again there will be a me and a you

Log in to write a note