How Blatant Was THAT!

The election just passed and the first 100 days of the new administration upon us I thought about another election that took place at the dawn of the century. Yes the Bush -Gore election of 2000 . We all remember how contentious it was but I’m not going into that . Except to say there was any indication just how bad it would be …at least I saw an indication  and perhaps you did too .  It was during the campaign that I saw it and it couldn’t have been any clearer if it was a button hook in the well water.

I  was just walking down the street one day when a bumper sticker caught my eye  – Teamsters For Gore  it said. Which took me aback. I mean even though is quite well known how violent the Teamsters have been over time  For them to come out and openly declare that they were in favor of bloodshed  – what is Gore after all if not  bloodshed – seemed not only brazen but unsettling. A veiled call to violent discord should their candidate, Al Gore, fail to achieve the Presidency. I mean, really…chilling, yes, chilling is the proper word here. Why couldn’t they have exercised a bit more civility? Like: Teamsters  Vote Gore – He’s Al We Got. Something like that – pithy, clear and absent the blood lust of the bumper rant I found so unseemly.

Anyway, that’s how we all should have seen the Fracas in FL 2000 way ahead of time.

And that’s all there is to that.

Log in to write a note
April 29, 2021

I remember that election. I wrote a parody song, “The Vote That Doesn’t End” … after the Lambchop Singalong song “The Song That Doesn’t End”. I was young. Like, 12 or 13 at the time. Don’t remember all of it. Also currently drunk. But here is what I remember:

“This is the Vote that doesn’t end / Yes, it goes on and on my friends /

They started recounting / not knowing what they’d done / and they’ll continue recounting / forever just because /

This is the Vote that doesn’t end / Yes, it goes on and on my friends /

This is the Vote that doesn’t end / Yes, it goes on and on my friends /

Ladies down in Florida doing lunch / discovered that Buchanan / was the hole that they had punched… (repeat chorus)”