Our story Part 3: 1997

Yes I had a date with one of my friends who I got high with & he was there to cheer me up after Rusty just disappeared. When I explained everything to him, he told me he was still my guy and would meet me later that week. Told me to let the other guy down easy.

After a few days we met up as planned.  At the park in our spot.  He told me all about Kansas.  He wanted to meet up later that night but told him I had to work. Told me to meet him after dinner at a parking lot next to a restaurant he would be at with his family.  So I did.  I met his brother & mom as they we’re leaving.  His dad just walked away. He told Rusty if he couldn’t be home 10pm he would be grounded! Are you freaking kidding me!? We’re 18 years old.  Just graduated high school & you’re going to ground him if he’s late?  WOW

It was nearly 7pm so i told him we had an hour to hang out.  His family left & I told him we had an hour because if our good nights got any longer we needed to plan better.  We stayed in that alley talking & holding each other.  Then he got brave and went for a kiss.

That kiss changed every kiss I ever had with anybody else & future kisses. That kiss literally made my knees buckle & it felt like my spine disappeared.  I melted. He caught me before I could fall.  Every kiss we ever shared was like that.  I could feel his hairs on his neck stand up.  Goosebumps on his arms & he gave a slight sigh every time we kissed.

We always had this special connection right from the beginning. We had been like magnets pulling to connect. We never did have that with others.

By 9pm he was home.  Not grounded.  He spend every day with me after dinner until 9pm that lasted 3 days after our first kiss.

One night I was in a lot of pain.  I thought period. Took Tylenol.  Couldn’t eat. Got up still in pain. Took more Tylenol.  Went to work.  About 2 hours in I screamed in pain to stand up.  I called my mother & she took me to the ER. After 3 hours in pain and tests they thought it was my appendix.

I waited for my parents to come back because they moved my car from work to their house.  I didn’t want to go into surgery without seeing them.  As I waited in my room I asked the nurse for a phone.  I called Rusty. His mother answered.  I told her I needed to talk with him but she told me that his father had grounded him for not getting a job and spending his nights with me. I explained my situation but then the nurse came to get me. I didn’t get to talk with him.  I didn’t get to see my parents.  I asked to call my roommates which they allowed.

After surgery I asked for my parents they told me they had been waiting. My parents saw me asked me how I was.  It was late. Almost 11pm. My dad told me they met my boyfriend.  He told me “he’s more nervous then I was.  I think I like him. ” They told me another friend was there too, Jon. Jon & Rusty came in & without skipping a beat. He came to my side & asked the nurse if he Could stay with me.  They allowed it.  Jon told me he wanted to make sure I was OK before leaving.

Rusty held my hand all night.  When I asked about his dad. “Fuck him.  Ground me.  I don’t care. It will be totally worth it. “

Log in to write a note