No News

No news is…..well, no news. Can’t say it’s good news, but pretty much the same news….get up, go to work, come home, eat (or fix dinner then eat), go to bed, start it all over again. There are a few variations to the routine, like on the weekends I don’t go to work, but they aren’t much to speak about.

So, I asked for and got a raise. Not a large raise and I’m still not making enough to be exempt from overtime, but I got a raise just the same. The director offered me enough of a raise to cause me to be exempt but I knew that once I was exempt from overtime he’d want me to work more nights and work weekends, so I turned it down telling him that I was afraid I would start working a lot of overtime because I wouldn’t have to watch my hours any more. I felt kinda bad asking for it since we had lost some funding, but everyone kept telling me I should ask. I guess I also felt bad because my program is the only one making money and I’m the only one in the place certified to do what we do. Without that certification, we would possibly be losing money. Not only that, but I’m the only one even trained to do what we I do so I’ve really got some power. I don’t want to abuse it, however, which is why I had a hard time asking for a raise. On the other hand, if things were going well and they put as much responsibility on me as they have, I would have no problem asking for a raise. 

 

Most of my family knows about this already, but for those of you who don’t….I was in my yard the other day picking up sticks so my son could mow the lawn when I happened upon it. I never expected to see one in my yard so I quickly slipped into the house to get my camera and take a picture before it was too late. Fortunately, when I got back it was still there so I quickly took a picture of it.

For those of you who don’t know what this is, it’s a sponge mushroom and it is greatly sought after here in Indiana. They sell for about $25.00 a pound or so in stores (or course, being mushrooms they are quite light and you can get a fair amount for a pound). I’ve been mushroom ‘hunting’ before, but the little guys would always here me coming and hide. This one, however, didn’t hear me and I was able to capture him. (or her) I still haven’t cooked it up because I’m not quite sure how it’s meant to be done. Maybe I’ll just saute it, since I like saute’d mushrooms. Hope it’s as good as $25.00 a pound would make it seem. Course, caviar is expensive and it’s not that good, so……maybe I’ll let you know how it turned out.

Log in to write a note
April 27, 2006

Congrats on your raise. 🙂 That’s very interesting about the mushroom. I hope it tastes delish and I hope you tell us about it! ~

Nice going on a raise. hope the shroom taste great.

April 28, 2006

hehe. You went mushroom hunting in your backyard and shot one. Me, call it overkill, but I use a 12-gauge, not a silly digital camera. Really, congrats on the raise. I know what you mean re: difficult to ask, but if the workload warrants it, why wouldn’t you? a woman gots to get PAID, son!

May 1, 2006

when mushroom gets big enough cut them , slice in half and soak them in salt water for one day than raise them out and batter them fried in butter , they would be very tasting hm…. but alittle salting of course , don’t want to put too much salt in water lol about two table spoon I think in big bowl of water

May 1, 2006

Congrats on the raise and the sponge mushroom. I take as a sign of positive things to come.

Tia
May 4, 2006

i read this entry to my mom.. she says you are certifiable. of course, her glass house is very fragile. lj

May 7, 2006

You didn’t tell me about your raise. I’m glad you did ask, you’re badly underpaid, still, I’m sure. And I’m also glad you outfoxed the fox on that overtime bit. Derreck was bitten by that once when we were working at B-dubs. Very nasty business, that was. Is it just me, or do I sound English? Hmmm…. lj