Grandma ramblings

Awhile back my grandson and granddaughter came with their mom to visit me (which happens fairly often). On this particular day, however, I had planned to go to a neighboring town and shop at the Meijer there. For those of you who don’t have Meijer, it is an all-in-one store with a grocery and dry goods section.

Meijer is kid friendly and along with having carts with benches for kids to sit in so they don’t have to sit in the little seat with two holes for your legs they have mechanical dinosaurs and horses that kids can ride for only a penny. (Maybe they’re more parent friendly) This Meijer was no different and as I was checking out the grandkids were asking their mother for money to ride the dinosaur. She informed them that she was fresh out of pennies but they could always ask grandma Linda.

Over they trot and so sweetly say, "Grandma Linda, can we have a penny, please."

"I don’t know, I only give pennies to people I love."

Without hesitation, and in his most pitiful voice, my 4 year old grandson responds with, "Pleease love us!"

Now, I ask you, who can resist that. The cashier, their mother, and I are all three laughing at this pitiful site and I personally am grateful that those who heard the plea were witness to the rest of the conversation because taken out of context that would have been horrible.

They got several pennies, by the way.

Log in to write a note

Aww poor little kids, have to be asked to be loved…

February 10, 2006

That’s such a cute story. 🙂 ~

February 13, 2006

You can’t help but shoot your eyebrows up, softening your eyes and droppign your jaw with an ‘awwwwwwww.’ Jealousy ensues. lj. I plan on calling you in a bit. Hope you don’t mind.

February 24, 2006

The kid sounds like a dork if you ask me but don’t think too much of it. That’s just the ramblings of a teenage super hero. lj

April 5, 2006

Hey. When I take the time from my busy out-to-sea schedule to write you, you should atleast have the decency to reply. I mean, it’s like the world’s forgotten about me. *wallows in self pity* . . .*stops wallowing, it’s degrading* lj

April 17, 2006

Where are you?

April 22, 2006

I love those booger-butts. Grandma called me out for not being on here much. I’m still not writing, though. So, there! lj