ARTISAN?

So, I was at Lachlanne’s diary and she had another one of those questionaire thingy’s and I HAD to take it. I’m quite shocked at the outcome, however, because I never really saw myself in this light.

your temperament is artisan (sp)

Artisans are the temperament with a natural ability to excel in any of the arts, not only the fine arts such as painting and sculpting, or the performing arts such as music, theater, and dance, but also the athletic, military, political, mechanical, and industrial arts, as well as the "art of the deal" in business.

Artisans are most at home in the real world of solid objects that can be made and manipulated, and of real-life events that can be experienced in the here and now. Artisans have exceptionally keen senses, and love working with their hands. They seem right at home with tools, instruments, and vehicles of all kinds, and their actions are usually aimed at getting them where they want to go, and as quickly as possible. Thus Artisans will strike off boldly down roads that others might consider risky or impossible, doing whatever it takes, rules or no rules, to accomplish their goals. This devil-may-care attitude also gives the Artisans a winning way with people, and they are often irresistibly charming with family, friends, and co-workers.

Artisans want to be where the action is; they seek out adventure and show a constant hunger for pleasure and stimulation. They believe that variety is the spice of life, and that doing things that aren’t fun or exciting is a waste of time. Artisans are impulsive, adaptable, competitive, and believe the next throw of the dice will be the lucky one. They can also be generous to a fault, always ready to share with their friends from the bounty of life. Above all, Artisans need to be free to do what they wish, when they wish. They resist being tied or bound or confined or obligated; they would rather not wait, or save, or store, or live for tomorrow. In the Artisan view, today must be enjoyed, for tomorrow never comes.

Artisans make up between 15 to 20 percent of the population, which is good, because they create much of the beauty, grace, fun, and excitement the rest of us enjoy in life.

I never thought of myself as an Artisan. I expected to find that I was a Guardian or a Rational…but an Artisan? I don’t have an artistic bone in my body. My walls are bare because I can’t ‘see’ how to arrange things.  I can see what something’s going to be before it’s put together many times, but I can’t tell you where to put it so that it looks nice afterward. And that whole, ‘constant hunger for pleasure and stimulation,’ thing….my family can correct me if I’m wrong, but that just doesn’t sound like me. ‘Variety is the spice of life?’ I like things to be predictable. I travel the same way nearly every time I go some where. I occasionally will try a new way to see if it’s better, but once I find the best way for me….I stick to it. I’m a waiter, saver and storer. I wait til I find the best price. I don’t like having less than $1000.00 in my savings (and for someone who’s well below the poverty level, that’s a lot) and my house can tell you that I store…way too much. I don’t have retirement savings, however, not even through work, so that kinda fits.

I do, however, tend to be mechanically inclined. I love taking things apart and fixing them. A former friend of mine called me Ms. Fixit because I was always fixing my own plumbing or furnace or whatever else was broke. Not only that but if there was a tool needed, they’d ask me first cause there was a chance I had it.

However, I don’t like creating with tools….just fixing. I don’t make shelves, I try to fix the one’s that broke and to fix them properly, if possible.

I think I’m going to have to go back to that site at a much later date to see what it says. Who knows, maybe there’s an artisan deep down inside me that’s dieing to get out. You know, when I was younger I used to love to embroider but after I got married and started having kids it was a ‘waste of time,’ and I lost all interest in it. I don’t even enjoy it because I just keep hearing what I SHOULD be doing while I’m embroidering but that’s a different story.

I have also thought that I could probably make a pretty good actress since I can usually lie through my teeth quite convincingly when I’m playing a trick and I know I’ll be ‘fessing up.’ When it comes to actually lying though, I suck because I feel too guilty to keep it up…lol

You know, I used to make rainbow birthday cakes for my kids…cause I like the way colors look next to eachother like that. I guess I have more artisan in me that I thought.

On another note… November 18th came and went and for the first time in 9 years I didn’t do anything. I didn’t write an entry in here, I didn’t play sad songs and cry my eyes out, I didn’t  get together with family, in fact, I went to work. They had a dinner at work on the 18th and I didn’t go to that either. I work as a credit counselor and twice a month I senc out payments for clients, the 18th happened to be the BIG payment day so I sat in my office and worked on that. That’s probably the closest I came to mourning that day….hiding myself in my office and keeping busy. I keep thinking I should feel guilty for not mourning her like I have in the past, but I don’t. Can I tell you a secret..part of my is tired of mourning…at least at this moment. Realizing that this hole will be there for the rest of my life, that there’s no getting rid of it.  However, being done with it would probably require forgetting her or never having known her and that’s not acceptable to me, so, I’ll continue to mourn.

Nine years, that doesn’t seem possible. It doesn’t feel like 9 years. Granted, it doesn’t feel like yesterday, but it sure doesn’t feel like it should be nine either. Well, I guess I am writing an entry, just late this year.

I’m sick today. I have laryngitis. My sons think it’s great, they especially like my laugh. I’ve been talking in a whisper because it’s the best way for me to be understood. My eldest called this morning and I answered the phone without whispering and she told me I shouldn’t answer the phone because no one can understand me. I explained I was the only one up. Tomorrow I have to go to work and try to talk to clients with this lack of voice….this ought to be fun. I normally have to give an orientation to potential clients on Monday mornings but I cancelled tomorrow’s awhile back. Sure glad I did! I still have one scheduled for Tuesday afternoon but maybe if I rest my voice I’ll be able

to talk by then. If not, I’m not sure what I’m going to do.

Well, I’m talking to the eldest on AIM (her idea so she could understand me and I wouldn’t have to strain my voice) and I keep getting distracted from here so before this entry gets any more scattered, I think I’ll go.

Hope you all had a great Thanksgiving.

Edit: Ok, I was just looking over my last entry and it said that I was only 16% artistic. I try to answer these things as honestly as possible. There are always a few questions that have no right answer for me so I have to pick one over the other and neither fits better than the other. I’m sure this skews the results a bit. I think I may have discovered a new temperament….it’s the CONFUSED temperament….yep, that’s me!

Log in to write a note
November 27, 2005

you are artisic look at the kids you hve raised not 1 is a problem for you. you have given them love and a sence of self to try and make a presentable person of themselves and that is a artistic value you did it with hmans not a inaminic object. lj

Thank you so much for the permision…

November 27, 2005

They seem right at home with tools, instruments … Well, you described that part of yourself. 🙂 “Artisan” doesn’t have to mean an artist with a paintbrush. Learning more about yourself can be fun and extremely useful. ~

November 28, 2005

fyi: it’s your son so far from home.

December 10, 2005

RYN: I dunno, but it sure sounds like a sweet way to go! ~