Group Home

I am going to a group home before I do independent living. I need advice on what to expect if anyone has experienced them. Are they bad? Are they good? Should I be worried if I get beat up or people steal things? I’ve been doing a lot of research, some things I hear that I don’t like. My anxiety is really high and it’s going to be in a week or so. I need some help.

Log in to write a note
April 5, 2018

I wish I could give some advice here, but I have no experience with this. I will say, it is really easy (for me at least) to hear a lot of bad things online or elsewhere, and let that trigger our anxiety, or let that mask the statistical truth of a situation. I hope that is the case for you, and that you will have a great experience with where you go.

kat
April 5, 2018

I am sure each place is different and it probably differs on what your group home is for. My friend went to a group home from her drinking. she really liked the order and the friends she met there. she really could not bring anything but clothes so I don’t think stealing was an issue. we have a group home near us for troubled girls and I believe there is some fighting but low level

 

April 5, 2018

I live next-door to a transitional group home that caters to young adults with mental issues. In the over 30 years that I have lived here, only once has there been an issue with a patient, who’d lost control and screamed at the other residents. It was quickly dealt with, by staff who have always come across as kind, patient, supportive and caring.
Every group home is different, of course and if you have issues or concerns about where you land, never be afraid to talk to the staff and your social worker. I hope that your experience will be a positive one. Best of luck to you.