Article on Trick-or-Treating Age

I remember in jr. high and high school, some classmates said they weren’t going trick-or-treating on Halloween, because their parents said they were too old.  Back then, age stereotypes seemed to be the reason, which was not a good reason at all.  Besides, parents were being bad role models by stereotyping their children.  Some of my jr. high and high school classmates also said that a few others and I were being childish and immature by trick-or-treating.

Some of my high school teachers also said things, such as "I don’t think any of you are going trick-or-treating," and "That’s for little kids."  Unfortunately, I didn’t realize that they were stereotyping and encouraging it as well.  I stopped trick-or-treating in 11th grade, because it just didn’t seem fun anymore, and I was too busy.  I also believed the people who said that it was for younger children.

Fortunately, in 12th grade, someone pointed out, "I bet they went trick-or-treating, too," and that was when I realized that those people who made the comments were wrong, and possibly hypocrites.

The internet article, How Old is Too Old for Trick-or-Treating, caught my eye on Tuesday, October 26, 2010.  It did bring up a good point regarding age limits, which was safety.  Some older children are physically big, which can scare some people, and some also use the chance to commit crimes.

I’m not sure if the age limit for trick-or-treating is a good idea or not.  If it’s because of safety, then I would agree.  However, I’m not sure if trick-or-treaters are a threat or not.  If the reason for age limit is stereotypical, then I’m against it.

Log in to write a note