Eliminating Bullying

"They should have started it decades ago," I thought as I read the internet article, Can Schools ‘Eliminate’ Bullying, as Education Secretary Says They Must? on Wednesday, October 27, 2010.  Instead, it took the recent suicide of a few bullied victims to start intervention.

From preschool to high school, I was always bullied almost everyday, especially in jr. high.  I would usually be hit or physically attacked in some way.  Unfortunately, teachers and staff often did nothing or blame the victim.  For example, they would say that I’m not trying to protect myself, I let them bully me, and other similar things.  At the same time, when someone else was bullied, they tried their best to stop it.

I also saw and heard about other students being bullied, and that would upset me as well.  As an adult, when I see children bullied at school, I get angry and try to help the victims.

Bullying isn’t just physical, as mentioned in the article.  There are also verbal and cyber bullying and mind games, which I’ve been a victim to as well, more than physical bullying since that ended when I started college.  Bullying that is not physical can often hurt more than those that are not.

I’m glad the government and schools are making attempts to eliminate bullying, but as what some people said in the article, it might not be possible.  No matter what is done, unpleasant people can always find ways to carry out their bad deeds.  However, if the intervention can reduce bullying, then that is already good news.  At least it’s better than nothing.

Log in to write a note