Chino Hills Earthquake

A strong shaking startled me awake, and knowing that it was an earthquake scared me further.  Those of us who grew up in Southern CA, an earthquake zone, we repeatedly went through earthquakes and preparation in school and other public places, so we would know what to except.

Experiencing several earthquakes in the past has helped me handle them.  I didn’t find the trembling too strong, so I didn’t seek better protection.  Besides, I knew it was dangerous to get up and walk during the shaking, so I just hid under my bedcovers until it stopped, which seemed to take forever.

Afterwards, I opened my front door to find no neighbors outside.  My hamsters also seemed unaffected.  They continued eating and sleeping.  My bad computer addiction led me to the internet, but I couldn’t find any information on the earthquake yet, except individual journal entries.  While then, I felt an aftershock for a few seconds.  I then went back to bed… I know over the years I’ve become such a lazy and irresponsible night owl, especially with my school often scheduling our classes at night.

Later, the news announced that the 5.4 earthquake took place near Chino Hills, CA at 11:42 A.M.  Fortunately, there were no injuries or serious damage.  Still, I had been scared.  Ever since the big Northridge earthquake on January 17, 1994, I would get really frightened everytime I feel a slight shake.

Log in to write a note
August 3, 2008

I was walking down the hallway )while at work) during the earthquake…didn’t feel it. I felt so cheated…LOL Im sure glad nobody was injured…