Two Hamster Deaths Almost at Once

Frightful had slowly been becoming less active as the days passed, but I wasn’t surprised since her tumor was getting worse.  She just kept sleeping on Wednesday, April 8.  The next day, I had to get rid of her corpse before returning to my apartment.  I’ve only had her for 16 months.

Thursday afternoon, my other hamster, Snocial, was still active.  However, he began sleeping in the evening and was reluctant to get up.  After I got back to my apartment that night, I found him dragging his hind legs, which seemed to have lost their function.  I began to think that it could be the reason for not using his litter box: he couldn’t climb in.  The rest of the night, he sometimes crawled around his cage with his front legs, but wouldn’t eat or drink.  His body was cold and still early this morning (Friday 4/10), indicating death.

It was hard enough losing just one hamster, but two! Everytime I heard random noises, I would think they were caused by my hamsters, only to realize again that I had empty cages, which were very painful to deal with.  I did manage to replace the dead hamsters.  All three new hamsters are pretty small and cute.  One of the females is cream, and the other is brown and white.  The male is cream and white.

Log in to write a note
April 11, 2009

Hugs! I am so sorry!