Very Excited!

I went into the classy restaurant again to drop off my application. I came face-to-face with the married couple that owns the restaurant. I was expecting them to take my application and send me on my way like the other places I applied to, but they stopped me in the middle of the restaurant to interview me. It was like a pre-interview while waiters hurried passed for ten minutes.

She had been reading over my application for a moment and commenting on a few things as she read.  "…And you love to cook!" she carried on. He interrupted her, "When can you start?"

"Now." I said.

"Are you available through the summer?"   I said yes.

She continued, "You’ve worked in a restaurant before as the kitchen assistant. Oh, and you’re in a culinary arts program."

I added, "Well, that’s an online class, but yes."

Then he looked at me in the eyes and  said my new favorite words, "I need a prep cook. Can you come in for an interview?"

"Yes, I can."

"Tuesday?"

"What time?" I asked.

"9 AM."

Ten minutes felt like five seconds. I was out the door and I was so excited I nearly skipped down the steps to my car. On the way out I whispered, "Thank you, God!"   The woman going through the door gave me a weird look. I beamed at her.

Having them find out my sister works there was like the cherry on top. They’ve known her since she was 16, and they love her.  He broke the seriousness of the conversation for a minute. "They don’t make too many like your sister." Like she’s a new breed of wonderful.

The cute guy that gave me the application walked by while I was talking to the owners. Was it my imagination or did he faintly smile when he saw them nodding at me like they were going to hire me?

I feel like I have the job. I just know it. Prayers work.

It’s larger than my expectations. I’m so excited!

 

Log in to write a note