Applying for jobs

3:36 PM

I’m about to go apply for a new job. I feel like I need one of those moments characters have in TV shows where they always build themselves up in the mirror. I am a confident, sexy woman! I can do this. I have fantastic hair and a nice smile. Then there should be some kick ass music in the background, and I should probably write on the mirror with red lipstick to make it more dramatic.

Update  8:04 PM

 

I just got home after applying for jobs downtown. There is a new cafe that opened in town that I wanted a job at, so I went there first. I was nervous to begin with, so nervous I could feel the blood pumping through the veins in my arms, but on the way up to the door I tripped over the lip of the sidewalk and stumbled over my own feet. The construction worker sitting beside the door blushed with me, like even he was embarrassed that I nearly face-planted on the sidewalk. It was raining. I have an excuse. I picked myself up and we smiled at each other like we shared a secret.

The door was locked and a little blonde lady was inside. I waved at her through the window and she waved me away from the door. When I didn’t budge, she sort of huffed over and unlocked the door. I asked if they were hiring yet and she told me they already had all the help they needed. She told me to come back next week to get an application and they will file it away for later. I’m not sure if I’m that desperate.

Since I was somewhat over my initial nervousness, I walked into the cookie shop and asked for an application. They weren’t hiring either, but the woman behind the counter beamed at me and gave me an application anyway. We had a nice little chat and a laugh and I’m going to drop back in tomorrow. She told me to have a nice day, and she meant it.

Another new restaurant opened up. They were hiring, but I didn’t like the feel of the restaurant. It made me nervous. They had lawn furniture inside and concrete floors with a yellow awning above the counter.

The girl behind the counter was about 29. I shook her hand for her. She was the owner, but she said she wasn’t sure if they were hiring, then she changed her mind and said they were. After that, she asked me if I had a résumé. I must have given her an odd look for a moment, because I felt my left eyebrow twitch upward. She must be from a large city in another state, California maybe. The way we do things in small town back country, people either hire you from word of mouth, because they know your brother-in-law’s mother’s cousin or they look over the application you gave them and tell you to come in at 5pm. Résumés are for people applying at banks. They’re unheard of for people applying at a sandwich shop.

She asked me to bring my résumé in tomorrow and we’ll go over it together, but the way she said it made me feel like I was a slow eight year old and she’d be quizzing me on the names of color crayons. The moment I turned around and pushed open the door I knew I would not be going back there, not even for lunch.

Finally, I went to the place I knew to be hiring. I went there last because my sister works there. However, she does make $90 in tips on some nights, since the restaurant is the classiest in town and situated right next to the theatre.

I walked in, said hey to the first person I saw and asked if they had any job openings. It was a guy about 28, and with his bouncy curls and sparkly eyes he was oddly cute. I’m quite sure he was the sous chef. He made me feel so comfortable, relaxed and welcome there, I’m sure I made an immediate friend. Even the atmosphere of the restaurant was calming compared to the bustle of the other restaurants. It wasn’t because it was a nice place, it just felt like everything clicked and I knew it was right.

Anyway, he gave me an application and asked if I knew what type of job I wanted yet. I said I wasn’t sure and we both laughed, for some reason. I thanked him and told him I’d bring the application back tomorrow.

Then I drove to the grocery store and got breaded cream cheese hot peppers at the deli to calm my nerves. My brother’s new girlfriend is the manager at the grocery store and she passed me two boxes of strawberries for free, so I could bake a strawberry rhubarb pie for dinner. She showed me a picture on her cellphone from a time she was dressed up in a batman costume last week. We totally laughed over that picture. She’s actually the first girl I’ve liked that my brother has dated. I think we could be friends even if she wasn’t dating my brother.

When I got home, my mom had left a message on my phone. She and my dad had been over at my sister’s house. My sister surprised them with some pretty great news that she’s pregnant again. We think it’s a little boy this time. She had an ultrasound yesterday, so I have to go see the picture sometime soon.

I guess I just had to write all that out. I was so nervous all day, it feels nice just to sit and type in silence.

 

Log in to write a note