Books, Religion, and Skivvies

It’s 10:22 a.m. and I am in my skivvies having some coffee.  David and Dez are on a flight to San Francisco where they will rent a car and drive to Santa Cruz to visit his mother and sister.  Probably his aunt and uncle, too, since they live across the street.  JP will be coming to hang out with me after work tomorrow and then stay until Sunday evening.  I think Dave and Dez are planning on returning on Wednesday, but they are not sure. I have a feeling they are waiting to see how I am going to be doing here on my own.  They are being really sweet that way. I wish they didn’t have to be. I wish I were mentally stronger, but I’m not…..

I’m reading a book called The Universal Christ: How a Forgotten Reality Can Change Everything We See, Hope For, and Believe by Richard Rohr.  It actually makes me feel sane in the midst of all the insanity. While slowly reading this, I have been on YouTube watching his recent interviews and old talks he has given. This particular book was a New York  Times Bestseller which is new for him, I believe. He also worked with an editor which I think is also new.

He founded a place in New Mexico called The Center for Action and Contemplation, and turned it into something called The Living School a few years ago.  Sounds like a cult, doesn’t it?  LOL…..What is really funny is that it is the opposite of a cult. Totally non-controlling…..so much so that there are people within the Catholic Church (he’s a priest) who like to call him a heretic and say he is “dangerous”.   He preaches love and acceptance for ALL people. He respects and accepts all religions. So, for now, I have a book to read and think about that is positive in nature.

Early voting has started here in Georgia.  I already mailed my ballot in, and it has been accepted. (Dez checked online).  The lines have been really long this time.  People are waiting a minimum of an hour and a half when it is “light”, and up to 6 hours in some places. In my town, I have heard 4 1/2 hours.  I do recall that our local Black Lives Matter group held a voting drive and registered over 3,000 people in a month.  Usually voting drives will gain a couple of hundred here on a good month.  A local progressive women’s online group here are assuming that means Trump will win in this county and all over by a landslide.  I’m not so optimistic.  The man got 70 percent of the vote in this county in 2016.  And there are trump signs everywhere. On the other hand, Democrats are kind of afraid to put out their signs. Some have been stolen, but so has some of Trump’s I think that is awful on both sides, although I will admit I felt tempted, lol.

As for me, I’m not feeling optimistic that Trump will be voted out of office. And if he is, I’m not feeling optimistic about what will happen afterwards. I believe there is going to be much violence after the election no matter what happens.  I’m resigning myself to the reality that we are a nation divided,  the pandemic isn’t going to be over for a while, and I’m going to have to find a way to be sane and live my life in the midst of it, letting go of the fear and finding silver linings where I can.

Hope everyone has a good day or the best day they can in these strange times.  I’ll probably check in throughout the day to see if anyone has been here.  Just to say hello.  Trying to do that more often.  I imagine I’m not the only lonely person on the planet, lol.  Take care, and abbagooday!

 

 

Log in to write a note
October 15, 2020

I haven’t heard “skivvies” in years! My Dad used it as in “it’s so damn hot I’m going to strip down to my skivvies!” I assumed it was a navy term.

October 15, 2020

@chalandra LOL! Yeah, I like using old terms sometimes.

October 16, 2020

Yes. I don’t have much faith in this election, myself. I feel that he will definitely have another term, and that…that’s just…horrifying.

Jon
October 16, 2020

I share your concern about there being trouble after the election. I sure hope not.

October 16, 2020

I’m from Santa Cruz.  Wonder if I know the mother, sister or aunt & uncle.  Probably not — it’s been 30 years since I’ve lived there.

October 16, 2020

@ghostdancer small world! Do you visit often?

October 16, 2020

@catholicchristian I used to, especially when my daughter still lived there.  Now that I’m carless, it’s harder.  And friends have drifted away, as usual.  Friendship is pretty much based on proximity.+

October 16, 2020

@ghostdancer On the off chance that you knew them, Dick and Kathy Groen are his Aunt and Uncle. They have lived there for over 30 years.