more of this is this and that is that

 

Anyone who knows me knows I’m not a fan of therapist, therapy, or any dirvitive of that. I’m also not a fan of medication or anything like that, especially for children.

Well, I went to an orientation for the mental health program with my health insurance. mandatory. blehdy bleh (which reminds my ass i NEED to find my sons kaiser card. jeesh louise! tonight! i must before bed!!!!). I tuned out most of it… a bunch of slides and "this is our goal and this is what we do blah blah blaaaaaaaaah"

He has an appointment on friday.

I have to write to his teacher, he won’t be in school that day. Nor will he be turning in a weeks worth of homework since we got home after 7 pm tonight. And she can bite me twice on that. I also have to call her tomorrow morning anyway. And then she can bite me a third time.

Not only did he get in trouble for throwing sand (which was a group of kids, and why she made it seem like jonathon was the only one doing it pisses me off to no end) he also hit his head on a pole ru nning away from the kids who were bullying him and throwing the sand in the first place. It really pisses me off that SHE calls and tells me "he’s getting a yellow card for throwing sand" and at the same time a nurse calls me and says "your son hit his head really hard and we needed to call home about it’

WHY WOULDN’T THE TEACHER ALSO MENTION IT?

i hate his teacher. i don’t care what anyone says. she’s retarded and i hate her.

anyway, that’s that.

so it begins.

my son will take NO PILLS. but i will try whatever practical methods they suggest.

and so it goes.

 

oh and RS said that he’ll tell me tomorrow if he can hang out tomorrow (yeah, i predicted that).. so we’ll see.

i’m not really worrying about it at this point.

whatevah homie.

Log in to write a note

/hugs I hope everything works out honey. Chris

October 10, 2007

Grawr I hope you can hang out 😉 I’m sorry his teacher is so f-ing retarded! WTF. Teachers shouldn’t be so biased. I hope it all turns out well for you.

October 11, 2007

that kinda happened with my little sister once. she got hurt pretty badly.. actually broke her cheekbone… running into something while running away from a bully. the school didn’t even call my mom until half her face swelled up and she couldn’t breathe. my mom went up there and read them all the riot act. something tells me his teacher might be beyond that, though.

October 11, 2007

I agree. Don’t you DARE give him medicine to “medicate” his being a normal little kid. My sister had an AWFUL 1st grade teacher. Some kids bullied her and called her fat and the teacher said, “Well you are, aren’t you?” and called her a tattler. This boy kept taunting her and ruining her sand castle on the playground.. she warned him five times or so and then threw sand ALL over him.

October 11, 2007

I think he got what he had coming to him, but they insisted Mama punish her for it. You have every right to march yourself up to that school and insist they change his class, and you can switch him to another school if they don’t. It sounds like that teacher thinks just because you’re a working single mom she can blame your kid because you won’t have time to care. She’s wrong.

October 11, 2007

Interesting hobbies – I can’t say that I’m not a fan of at least a few of them (c’mon now, I’m a guy – I think you can figure which one is which)

October 11, 2007

YES! I know.. the DIARYMASTER. W00t. 😛 I’m upset because I want to see what the booty cleavage pics are, but I’m at work.. bah.

October 11, 2007

i hate when they put kids on medication too. it’s ridiculous.

October 11, 2007

Yes, I keep waiting for someone at the school to “suggest” medication.

October 11, 2007

That’s all that schools do is suggest medicine. It’s a shame. Medicine isn’t always the answer.

October 11, 2007

You may not like the teacher, but Jonathan will never learn to show respect to anyone at school, or learn to respect any kind of authority if you don’t show him how… you need to put aside your own feelings about the teacher for the benefit of your son…. he’s so young to be starting out with such a rocky start in school.. if he doesn’t learn how to respect others now, he will really have a hard

October 11, 2007

life ahead of him… I’m sure you want better for him than that….??

October 11, 2007

I don’t mean to upset you… I don’t believe that it’s medication your son needs, either.. but I do believe it’s a lifestyle change that he needs, and some good examples to be put in front of him on how to respect himself, others and how to avoid giving into impulses that are not healthy… you need to be an example for him… if you can’t do it for yourself, then do it for him..

October 11, 2007

Sounds like you need to focus more on your son than on RS just exactly now…

October 11, 2007

R Tinker’s note: Sometimes teachers just freaking don’t care. If Monique is actually working with her son, trying to get him to behave better, trying to teach him to respect authority, trying to communicate with his teacher, and his teacher is the one not budging, then she’s a whole five heads about half the parents out there.

October 11, 2007

M, as much as you go up to his school for things, talk to his teacher, make phone calls and try to help him adjust, you’re doing good. Phillip is a teacher, and on report card day when the parents are supposed to come get their children’s report cards, he’ll have two show up out of 30. I’d say you’re one of those “2”. Keep being like that, and tell people to shut up until they’re in your shoes.

October 16, 2007

UGH! The more you write about his stupid teacher the more I want to drive to his school and tell the teacher how stupid she is! I wonder what she would think of a crazy woman with 5 kids in tow coming to tell her how stupid she is and how she should treat this child whom I have never met! LOL