Summary of the year, 2012

 1.What did you do in 2012 that you’d never done before?
I bought a condo and moved to a place where I didn’t know anyone and I started graduate school and I made lots of new friends and I rode a bus after ten pm.  (Seattle has a much better bus system than Salt Lake!)
 
2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
I had to even check what they were.  I definitely started exercising more, but never around five times a week.  It’s not necessarily a ‘New Year’s Resolution,’ but I want to put myself on the line more with my new friends– I’m much more afraid of losing friends now that I only have a few.
 
3. Did anybody close to you give birth?
Ahno.
 
4. Did anybody close to you die?
Also no.  I like it when this answer is empty.
 
5. What countries did you visit?
I was boring this year travel-wise.  I spent all my money on moving.
 
6. What would you like to have in 2012 that you lacked in 2011?
A not-sick kitten.  It’s looking good so far.  Ender is healthy like a boss.
 
7. What date(s) from 2012 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
I don’t do dates.  Fuck dates.  I will definitely remember the day before we left Salt Lake, though.  Slumped against a wall in my now-empty apartment, terrified of all of the things I was leaving behind.  I wish I could give myself-then a hand up.  This move has been one of the best things to ever happen to me.  (Moving still sucks.)
 
9. What was your biggest failure?
I did terribly at my government job.  Most of it was the people around me, especially the very sexist and ageist people that made it clear what they thought of me.  I just wish I’d done better at ignoring them and still succeeding at my job.  Instead I just got more and more miserable.  Silver lining: quitting early because I needed my mental health to come before my paycheck.  I’m getting better at these sorts of decisions!
 
10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
My back is still pretty bad, but nothing else awful has happened.  There was a scare a couple of weeks ago where I was convinced that I had Diabetes, but the bloodwork came out normal.  My doctor thinks that the stress from finals threw my hypoglycemia completely out of whack…  I’m going to have to work on managing stress a lot more.  Graduate school is hard, guys.
 
11. What was the best thing you bought?
A condo with Bryan!  Easy answer.
 
12. Whose behaviour merited celebration?
Me!  I’m so proud of me this year.  I’ve done so many super scary things, and I’ve fucking gotten through them and come out ahead.  Moving somewhere where I know literally no one is one of the scariest things I could ever have imagined.  Seattle is practically heaven compared to Utah, I’m so glad I conquered my fears and managed to move to such a great place.
 
13. Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?
My coworkers at my government job.  I’ve never felt so ostracized and unsupported by my peers ever.
 
14. Where did most of your money go?
Moving to Seattle and then living in Seattle.  That’s expensive, guys.
 
15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
GRADUATE SCHOOOOOOOOOL!  Best.  Thing.  Ever!  Also… My Little Ponies!!
 
16. What song will always remind you of 2012?
Uh…. Maybe…  Another Travelin Song by Bright Eyes?  I guess.  Possibly also the My Little Pony theme song.
 
17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
So much healthier (Seattle, Man), so much happier, so much better off in my relationship and my career path and my living situation and…  I’m in a great place!
 
18. What do you wish you’d done more of?
If I remember correctly, I usually put ‘sex’ here.  Let’s say… kinky sex.  I’ve gotten into the kinky community this year.
 
19. What do you wish you’d done less of?
Freaking out about moving.  It wasn’t the worst.
 
20. How did you spend Christmas?
With Bryan’s parents and my parents.
 
21. Who deleted question 21?
The headless horseman!
 
22. Did you fall in love in 2012?
Not this year.  I’m not ready to do that again.
 
23. How many one-night stands?
Nopers.  Still none.
 
24. What was your favorite TV program?
MY LITTLE PONY: FRIENDSHIP IS MAGIC.  Because Friendship is Magic!
 
25. Do you hate anybody now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
Nope, still peace and love!
 
26. What was the best book you read?
OH MY GOD THE WHEEL OF TIME.  Saved my life during the boring government job.  Also one of my new favorite things ever.
 
27. What was your greatest musical discovery?
Dubstep.  Who knew I could love it so much?  But frankly, I think it’s fantastic.
 
28. What did you want and get?
To get into the University of Washington!
 
29. What did you want and not get?
To get into MIT.  That wound up being really good for me, though– there’s no way in the seven hells that I could afford Massachusettes, and apparently the chemistry department there is full of jerks.
 
30. What was your favorite film of this year?
The Hobbit!  You can’t go wrong with Peter Jackson’s Tolkein visions.
 
31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
I was 23 and…  I don’t remember.  Wow, that’s a first.  I know I spent time with friends, and had a great time, though.
 
32.What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
I dunno, this year has been pretty damned satisfying.  Everything has gone my way.  Maybe…  If my wedding planned itself.  That would be fantastic.</div>
 
33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2012?
Tomboy.  Starting to use a binder, wearing cargo pants…  I’m sick of people seeing me as female.  This was catalysed by the mysoginists at my government job, but is something that will be sticking around.
 
34. What kept you sane?
Bryan, as always.  Having a warm cat helps too.
 
35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Brad Pitt.
 
36. What political issue stirred you the most?
The election in general– I didn’t realize exactly how scared I was of Romney until Obama was re-elected.  I tried to keep my political beliefs to myself extra much, but it was nice being able to show them in Seattle.  I was in a bar that -cheered- at the election results.  Try and find that in Utah.  Ha.
 
37. Who did you miss?
Logan.  As per usual.  Also my Salt Lake friends.  Isabele and Jason and people who accept me for me and know my personal gender battle without judging me for it.  I’m so afraid of losing new friends because they find out.  This is related to my ‘New Year’s Resolution.’  I want to be brave enough to just be myself in front of my new friends.
 
38. Who was the best new person you met?
All my Seattle graduate school friends!!!  But probably especially Pat, who is awkward and sciencey and amazing and smart and awesome.  Also Sarah, who will keep me sane and Eric who will be the best coworker ever.
 
39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2012.
Make new friends, but keep the old.  Some are silver, and the other gold.
 
40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.
Carly Simon’s Shoulder to Shoulder:
We stand shoulder to shoulder
We stand side to side
When one of us gets a tiny bit tired
One gives the other a ride
Ride

Log in to write a note
December 31, 2012

My Wishes for u, Happiness deep down within, Serenity with each sunrise, Success in each facet of ur life, Family beside u, May the stars carry shine upon you, May the flowers fill your heart with beauty May hope forever wipe away your tears, Happy New Year Dini