Jumble

I wanted to write yesterday but it’s like the totality of life sat before me in the living room on my new rug like a huge jumbled ball of..stuff. I spent a good part of the day walking around it, pulling on my lip, and wondering just where to begin. So I didn’t begin at all.

I am not as good at the techie stuff as other diarists. I will have to keep plugging away at some writing before I will be able to comment on what I like, what I don’t, what works and what doesn’t. Right now, just being able to read and write and peek into the lives of some people I’ve been missing is gift enough.

I had an honest to goodness day off yesterday. I did the hausfrau stuff, laundry, cleaning, bill paying. I bought a new lamp for our newly renovated living room, a big arching thing that might define a new writing place in the near future.

I slept well but had a disturbing dream about singing children in a church basement and lice and people whispering.

I cannot even comment on the tragedy in Vegas. Horrific and perplexing. Fodder for my fervent belief in gun control which no one except Hillary will comment on in this Trumped up age of politics. Even juicier fodder for the “thoughts and prayers” crowd who seem to even crave anything they can hurl their beloved thoughts and prays at and feel they’ve done something satisfying.

RIP, Tom Petty.

Log in to write a note
October 3, 2017

I personally have a real problem with “thoughts and prayers”, especially when it’s coming from legislators who won’t actually do anything about it.

Feel bad about Tom too, DiaryMistress and I just saw him on tour a month ago, it was a great show and he certainly seemed very vital and energetic. One of the few true American rock musicians.

October 3, 2017

I am also not a tech person and confess that a few entries here look like a different language to me. But I’m – and always have been – fascinated with the psychological and social aspects of OD, especially in comparison to the prevalent social media channels. So I hope to help create some of the normal interaction on here that will, in its own way, hopefully help those who speak the mystery jargon 😉

October 3, 2017

It is so good to listen to your voice again.

I keep watching a video of Petty & Prince, collaborating on “While My Guitar Gently Weeps” at the 2004 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. They were both so amazing.

October 13, 2017

It was hard losing another Willbury….