Day 16

Up early not sure why that keeps happening. Microwave breakfast, Jimmy dean for the save. Chance is up early in a good mood, guess because he gets to see Casey sure it’s not because it’s a school day. Feed horses while Chance got ready well was supposed to get ready. I ask him why

Chance: well because I can’t find my stuff, plus my clean boxers and socks are in the washer.

Me: did you look (Then it hit me I had got in a hurry and was just putting are clean clothes in the extra bedroom on the bed when I finished a load and was going to fold and hang them up last night after he went to bed that didn’t happen) so finished the did you look, with I’ll get them and put the stuff in the dryer

Chance: I already put the stuff in the dryer

Me: ok the clean stuff is in the spare room

Chance: mom didn’t keep them in there

Me: I know, but she folded and hung them up as they finished, I’m not that good

Chance: you can say that she is a better mom than you, but you do dad stuff better you will see when she comes back. (Think the last part was to make me feel better)

Me: just get ready Butthead

Chance: can’t find my brush

Me: if you put your stuff up

Chance: dad you had it last when you helped me get the tangles out of my hair

Me: you’re batting a thousand this morning, it’s on my dresser

Chance: ait it fun

Me: just get your hair finished and get your socks and shoe on are we picking up what’s her name

Chance: (his face lit up) WE ARE NOW

Dropped them off and I spend the day hauling hay to hay lots around the ranch

Picked Chance and Casey up stopped, got a drink at Allsups Dropped Casey off headed home. When we got there the alarm was going off. I couldn’t find anything but another reason to worry.

Made a stew in the slow cooker since it was so Coldwell at 59 degrees but felt colder. Made cornbread not too bad for a first try. The brat boy ate it.

I spent the day going back and, forth if it was time to have the talk about his mom. Then I think it’s only been 16 days, but seems like months and the last thing I want to do is break his heart. He is still so sure she is coming back. He refuses to talk about it other than she will be back for good she has my hat, boot, and saddle she still loves us you just don’t know. Then I think he needs to figure it out or I will always be the bad guy. People say he needs to see a counselor, but he just refuses to talk and goes into a shell, and stops talking to anyone for hours. Then every one of them gives a different answer about what I should do. One says medication would happen one says just bring him back till he starts talking to her. One says just wait. I’m not a counselor fan from the start first I have yet to find one with a family sorry, that’s a red flag to me someone that doesn’t have kids is divorced and the kids are with their X. Yes, I checked them out. So far, the best help I have gotten has been from people with kids. One here and friends that will talk about it.

Log in to write a note