Day 21 great day

 

Turning off my mind is becoming such a problem. It goes so fast. Do I tell Chance?

His mom won’t be back if I do. How do I explain it?

Do I let it ride? Which will hurt him the least.

How do I get this under control, raise him and keep this place going? I start writing on this, whatever it is, and think, just man up and do something.

Then he walks in, and something comes out of that smart mouth, and I think, how could she do this to him?

Chance comes in for breakfast.

Chance: Dad, something with sugar and a lot of it. Oh, I forgot to tell you we are having a Halloween field day, but we can’t say that we say fall festival day and you can come and I need a sack lunch and bottled water. You can come, right?

Me: Slow down. What are we talking about?

Chance: Dad, I will talk slowly; we are having a fall festival today. I want you to come. I need a sack lunch and bottled water. We are doing all kinds of races. Plus, I told them you would help. Are you mad cause I forgot to tell you?

Me: I’m not happy you are just telling me. But I wouldn’t miss it for anything. I have to stop and get lunch meat, cheese, bread, mustard, chips, water, and snacks. Butthead is there a list of anything you were supposed to give me. Go get ready.

Chance: Oh yeah, forgot it’s in my backpack. I’ll get it

Me: I hope I can get everything at Allsup’s.

Chance: your mad I can tell

Me: no, you have to remember to give me notes, ok

Chance: Ok, sorry, but gotta love me anyways (and took off to the truck)

Me:  Of course, I do, Brat

It was a great day watching him, not worrying about anything, just being a kid. Me, not so much. Whenever a car drove by, I would ensure it wasn’t his mom. Thinking how she could leave this. Then think how could I have missed so much and not come to everything he does? I feel like I was her then,  and now she is me. If that makes sense. Chance won three ribbons. I only offended one teacher I ask Chance if he was having fun at the Halloween festival. One of the teachers said fall festival we are teaching them not to use that word. Ma’am, he is mine, I will decide what’s best for him, your job is to teach him to read, write, and math. Otherwise, butt out. Your beliefs are of no concern to me, you free to have and teach them to your kids I will teach mine. She was not happy. I heard her correct him again about an hour later. I explained you are not to speak to my son again. Unless it involves his safety. We had this conversation, not an hour ago who do you think you are? You’re not his teacher and sure not his parent. She reported me to the school resource officer. He came over I explained what happen. He said your not the first to have an issue with her. I don’t have an issue with her she is free to believe what she wants, but Chance is my kid, I make decisions for him till he is old enough then he can decide for himself. I told Chance at no point was he to disrespect her or he would be in trouble, but she is openly trying to go against what I said when it comes to my son. One more time and I will be at the next school board meeting and talking with the superintendent. He left and the principal found me about 30 minutes later and said we advised the teacher to stay away from your son. I thanked her and made it clear I did not want her in trouble her beliefs are hers and she should have them I don’t have to like them. But I have mine, I don’t push them on anyone and won’t have yours pushed on me or my son. I seem to have a natural ability to piss people off over my beliefs. It is crazy you have yours, and I have mine. I don’t push mine on anyone all I ask is don’t push yours on me. Your life is yours to live it mine is mine let me live it. Hell, I can’t run my life, I sure don’t need to try and run yours. Enough about that sure I will catch it on here for this.

I haven’t seen Chance smile and laugh so much since she left. On the way home, he asks me a dozen times did you see me _________?  I bet he sleeps tonight. We stopped at Jason’s and ate, he had meatloaf, mashed potatoes, fried okra, 2 rolls, and banana cream pie. And part of my salad but that was just to see if he liked French dressing. He does. Head home feed horses while Chance showered and then a movie

Log in to write a note