long night

The day started at about 2:30 am Chance woke me up with a nightmare. He was sure if he went back to sleep, it would happen. It took about an hour to get him to talk

Me: Hey Buddy, do you remember the dream

Chance: not saying it will happen

Me: it was a dream. It’s OK to tell me

Chance: no

Me: OK, let’s try to get some sleep

Chance: no

Me: come on, you can sleep in my room. Maybe that will help

Chance: I’m not going to sleep

Me: OK, we can watch American dad

Chance: I’m not five. That won’t work

Me: OK

We watched Tv till about 4 am. He just laid there, finally

Chance: Daddy, if I sleep, you promise you will be here when I wake up

Me: I will always be here when you wake up

Chance: When I dreamed mom left, she did

Me: sleep here, and if I try to get up, you will wake up

Chance: don’t lie to me

Me: Buddy, you stuck with me, good or bad

He talked about the night she left and their fight, and she said something like if you can’t show me, you can do what I say. I won’t be mom till you do. Not sure of the exact words are even what it was about. He was in tears. That explains more about the shoe and some other things. He tells me he was sorry he did it and maybe why he is so sure she will come back if he proves he can do what she said. He said, dad if you don’t mess it up because you’re mad at her. I had not thought about it, but he does every chore she gives him daily without me saying a word. I was going to let him sleep in he woke up late.

Chance: why didn’t you get me up now? I will be late

Me: you were up all night. You need to sleep

Chance: no, I have to go to school

It hit me. I thought it was because of Casey. But it’s his mom. He used always to be a pain getting up and wanted to stay home.

Me: OK, it’s OK, I will take you. You can be late nobody will be mad

Chance: unless I’m sick. I have to go and promise you won’t do that again.

Me: Buddy, it’s OK. You can go

I don’t get it. He has not missed many school days. His teacher said he had one of the best attendance records in the class. When this happened, I talked with her about his grades and attendance.

Log in to write a note